winter wonderland

We had a really big snowstorm this weekend. REALLY BIG. Like 27″ on our back deck big. The snow started yesterday in the late afternoon and continued for about 24 hours. As I’ve mentioned before, I love a big snowstorm. I was actually pretty giddy in anticipation on Friday, and then I got a little worried that the storm wouldn’t deliver. But I was not disappointed!

Our back deck at about 9:30am. It snowed for about six more hours after this!

A view from our front door. Can you see the cars?

We really don’t get snow like this in Maryland. In fact, we don’t usually get much snow at all. In the 12 years I’ve lived here, I can count on one hand – including this storm and the one we just had in December – the number of storms where we’ve had more than 8 or so inches. Apparently this one broke the all-time record snowfall for Baltimore.

A view of the back yard. The fence in the back is four feet tall.

The bulk of the snow fell overnight. We walked to dinner at one of our favorite places last night, and there was about 4″ of snow when we got home around 9:00. By this morning at 7:00, when I went to let the dogs outside, there was probably 20″ of snow. Poor Rocky was so eager to get outside (he had to go!), but he just couldn’t quite figure out how to get through the snow piled up against the door. He kept taking a step forward and then jumping back out of shock and confusion. It was quite entertaining. I eventually pulled my boots on over my pajamas and shoveled just enough for them to get out onto the deck. Later I cleared a path down the deck stairs and a patch at the bottom for them.

Macy wondering how to get to her yard.

We went for a walk around the block around 4pm, just as the snow stopped. It was exhausting wading through that much snow! Macy had a blast, but Rocky pooped out about halfway around the block and I actually had to carry him for a while. (And let me tell you, it’s not easy to carry a 25-pound squirming dog while wading through snow up to your knees.) I felt like a bad beagle mama for taking my 10-year-old little guy out in snow taller than he was. Tomorrow we’ll take Macy out but Rocky can stay nice and dry and warm at home.

They looked like they were swimming through the snow.

Rocky was content snoozing the day away. Macy, on the other hand, was pretty restless, since she’s used to patrolling the yard and generally loves to be outside. Instead, she managed to pull out just about every bone and dog toy we had in the house.

It took a while, but she eventually found the acceptable chew toy.

Craig shoveled our sidewalk and we’ll work on the driveway and cars tomorrow (although I really wonder when we’ll be going anywhere). He came in from shoveling and spent the afternoon making a scrumptious French onion soup. How lucky am I?

I love a man with a snow shovel.

All in all, it was a fun day. I managed to avoid doing anything productive, but tomorrow there are some chores I should take care of. I did spend some time today wishing we had our child with us, thinking that it would be fun to share this type of experience with him or her. But I didn’t dwell on it and I know there will be snow again in the future. It will be very interesting to see how the next couple of days go. The temperatures are going to be very low and so there are lots of concerns about the roads freezing to a point where salt won’t be effective. My fingers are crossed for a snow day on Monday!

This entry was posted in dog, family, home, life, neighborhood. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to winter wonderland

  1. angela says:

    Wow!!! 27 inches! Amazing! I never fathomed the record snow falls that occured this week. We panic over a couple of inches around here which is pathetic, but true. I would be more like Rocky for sure.
    Your little one will arrive in time to enjoy another mammoth snow fall. I’m sure it has to be fun! I hope the ice doesn’t happen because that’s not fun.

    P.S. French Onion Soup sounds delicious!

  2. Poor Rocky!!! I can just see him trying to get outside, but being so unsure 😦
    Isn’t the snow super-fun?! We had a storm with about that much snow one year in Chicago. It was awesome!!!
    Glad you got to enjoy it. Fun cozy day!

  3. Kelly Cole says:

    I’m so jealous of your snowstorm! I’ve got snow envy, and I really hope you get a snow day on Monday (not really fair it fell on a weekend).

    Your dogs are so cute going for a walk in that deep snow!

  4. Meg DeZutti says:

    Isn’t this your 2nd or 3rd really really big snowfall? We’ve had terrible, frigid weather, but no more than 1 foot at any point in time.
    Oh, and doesn’t that lovely husband of your deserve a snow-blower? Best investment we ever made.

  5. Kris says:

    I’m sorry I’ve gotten behind on posts. I am amazed on how much snow you got! It looks like fun! I like a good snow storm too, as long as someone else has to shovel. I love that picture of the dogs trying to walk through the snow – they must have been exhausted!

  6. Michelle says:

    That soup sounds yummy and warm for days like this. Enjoy the snow!

  7. Meg says:

    Wow! That’s unbelievable and I really think a snow day is in your future. I’ll keep my fingers crossed. Thanks for sharing your pictures!

  8. Christine says:

    This still amazes me… how much snow you actually got! Wow!

    The best part is the dog’s reactions to it all. I love that shot of Macy trying to cure her boredom. Too funny!

    I’m happy it was you and not me though. (Especially since my lil guy hates being out in that much!)

  9. E says:

    Sounds like it was a good day for you guys! Mmmmm…french onion soup. We also got a lot here in Philly. It turned out to be the 2nd biggest snowfall in our area’s history. Number 3 was just in December. We’re getting walloped this winter, as I know you are too where you are.

    Hope you get your snow day tomorrow! I’ll be going in:(

  10. Jodi says:

    Your pics look like mine!!! Glad you guys got to enjoy the snow with the dogs! Great pics!

  11. Erin says:

    I think you will get that snow day you wanted Monday!! 🙂

    Gosh that is a lot of snow. Got about 3-4 inches here.

  12. Emily says:

    Wow! What a lot of snow!

  13. sue says:

    i LOVE a big snowstorm! how wonderful! i hope you get a snow day tomorrow!

  14. Christine K says:

    Wow–amazing! It’s so beautiful. I love a good snowstorm, too. We’re supposed to get 8-10 inches tonight and tomorrow–hopefully we actually will!

  15. Krista says:

    So that is where all our snow went!

  16. live2roam says:

    Wow you guys did get a lot of snow. Great pics! Glad it is all over for you!

Leave a Reply

