ethiopian gathering

Last night we attended a gathering of local Ethiopian adoptive families at Dukem, an Ethiopian restaurant in Baltimore. This gathering is held every other month, and we first checked it out back in November. In describing that evening, I noted how wonderful it was to become a part of this fabulous community.

We filled up the entire second floor of the restaurant, and I estimate there were about 25-30 adults and a dozen or so children in attendance. The families included couples like us (in the waiting phase for our first child(ren)), families with children who had come home within the past several months, families with biological children waiting to add an Ethiopian child (or two), and families with children who had been home for quite some time. So it was a fantastic mix of experiences.

A couple of the families had just completed their dossiers this week. Nowhere other than a gathering like this could you find such a level of understanding and congratulations as to what that meant! It’s such a giant step in this complicated adoption process.

We were so glad to see Alan and Lindy again (who came from DC) and Zoe and her husband Brian. I was also happy to meet Jamey and her family, as we have been talking a bit online lately (and she is the creator of our cute little Ethiopian flag blanket – check out her Etsy shop (she’s making blankets of other country flags now, too, folks!)), and also to briefly meet Renee and her adorable son Noah. I’ll have to make sure I get more time to talk with her next time (and I didn’t get a chance to meet her husband, although he was there). It was really fun to actually meet people I have gotten to know a bit online. And we met many, many other lovely people as well. The group was actually large enough that it was nearly impossible to talk with everyone, so we’ll have to try to mingle a bit more next time.

I love that we have such a great community in our area, and that we’re making these new friends. I have a feeling that these are people we are going to know for a long time (if I’m not scaring them off by making this statement, that is!), and it will be so much fun for us to all get together with our little ones when the time comes.

And, in addition to the great company, we also enjoyed delicious Ethiopian cuisine. I particularly loved the sambusas, yemiser wot (spicy lentils), and what I think was denich wot (spicy potatoes). I am definitely a wot (stew) fan. I keep meaning to ask to keep the menu when we eat so I can learn the Ethiopian names for things. And I really should take some photos! Next time…

This entry was posted in adoption, community, ethiopia, friends, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to ethiopian gathering

  1. So, so cool that you have this opportunity. And I’m totally drooling over your last paragraph…

  2. Rach says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to be at those gatherings??? I love getting together with other APs!

  3. Alan says:

    Great to see you too! Totally agree — as vegans, we were initially drawn to Ethiopian food for the bounty of vegetable dishes.

  4. Kelly Cole says:

    Kelly – how fun! I know exactly what you mean about the comfort of being with people who totally understand. I’m sure it was also really inspiring to see the kids and visualize the end of your long journey πŸ™‚ Not to mention some tasty-sounding cuisine!

  5. Joanna says:

    Sounds like a great time! It’s so fun to get with other AP’s and families.

  6. Leah says:

    It sounds like you have a wonderful community in your area. That is great, and as you said, these are the only people who truly understand the process and everything.

    I’m also a big fan of the spicy lentils. Love them!

  7. Jenny says:

    FUN! i love that you have such a great adoption community around you!

  8. Erin says:

    That is awesome that you and C and your adopted child (ren) will have network of people with similiarities. That is just so awesome and important, I think.

    Glad you had a nice time !!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  9. michelleoryl says:

    Sounds like you have found a great AP community! Yay.

    That food sounds soooo yummy. I am starving now at 9am in the morning, thank you very much.

  10. Emily B. says:

    I am also so grateful for our local group of Ethiopia Adoptive Families. The group has been such a huge part of our support system as we go through this process. I am also so happy that our future child will have this group of other families that look like his/her family. Such a gift and glad you have it as well!

  11. Janet says:

    Sounds really fun. I LOVE getting together with families formed through adoption. Love it. Such a wonderful feeling to be with people who totally “get it.” Also, while waiting I found it so inspirational to be around little Korean kiddos (in your case Ethiopian) and their families. Made me so excited for the future.

    I also am a wot fan! Yummy! Lentils too.

  12. Christine says:

    I’m so jealous of your group… we just don’t have that here. Not to mention, it sounds delicious… and fun… and have I mentioned I’m jealous!?

  13. E says:

    It’s wonderful that you have this community/support group/dinner club! Sounds like a lot of fun and it’s great that have a future playgroup too;) Glad you had a good time.

  14. Jodi says:

    That is awesome! I’m glad you have such a large support network of people going through/went through what you are! πŸ™‚

  15. Meg says:

    Wow! That sounds like such fun. You are so lucky to have an organized group like that… I know there is a group in Chicago, but I don’t think they are as organized. How fun when you bring your kiddo home!

  16. Jo says:

    That sounds like such a great evening, we too are incredibly grateful to communities like that – cheers to fabulous friends!

  17. Alan says:

    So very late to leave a comment on this post… but it was great to see you guys too! πŸ™‚

  18. klarobinson215 says:

    Sounds like they will be a great source of support – and food? Yum! I have had eithiopian food once and loved it!

Leave a Reply

