pampered

I had a hair appointment today – nothing special, just a trim. But yesterday, as I was thinking about today’s hair appointment, I got the urge to call to see if I could get in for a massage as well. Lo and behold, there was an appointment available. It was apparently my lucky day!

So, today I went for my massage. The salon/day spa I go to is really nice (at least in my opinion – I’m sure there are fancier ones out there, but this is plenty nice for me!) and they really give you the full pampering treatment. So, when I arrived they had me change into a comfy robe and slippers and then rest in the Tranquility Room for a few minutes before my appointment. (This is a nice, dimly-lit room with soft music playing, candles, chaise lounges, blankets, and a fire in the fireplace. Perfect ambiance for relaxation.)

My massage was heavenly. I had some good knots worked up in my neck and shoulders (where I, like everyone else, tend to have tension build up), and the massage therapist did a good job of working them out. One thing I like about spa treatments at this place is that they really pay attention to the little details – things like wrapping my feet in a warm towel after working on them, or the heated table, or the choice of music (and volume of it) in the background, and even the calm, quiet tone they use in talking with me. I loved the massage, and I felt so good afterward. I had an hour before my hair appointment, so I took a little rest back in the Tranquility Room and then got a bowl of soup and a salad at the place next door for lunch.

At this spa, after a massage, they put a little weighted, warm, aromatic thing around your neck. Now, I don’t get these types of treatments very often, but whenever I do, I think to myself how much I love that neck thingy. (It’s called a Neck Ease, I learned.) I found out that they sell them at the spa, but I found out that the price was around $50. No thanks. While I was having my lunch, I used my fancy little phone to see if I could get something like it for less money elsewhere. I got a couple of leads that I decided to look at later.

I mentioned this to my stylist, and she suggested that I inquire about my loyalty points when I checked out. I didn’t even know what she was talking about, but apparently I have been earning points (equal to dollars) each time I visit the salon. Some can only be used for merchandise/products, which I basically never buy there because they’re so expensive. So, I asked, and I had enough to make the neck thingy only $10. So I bought it.

Some might be wondering how going to a nice salon to get my hair cut and also splurging on a massage fits into our money-saving plan. It doesn’t. So don’t ask me about it! But I will say that I used a $100 debit card I received as a rebate from the purchase of my phone to (more than) cover my massage. So it felt like it was free. 😉

Anyway, I am feeling very relaxed and pampered today, and I really needed to feel this way. Craig is going to a concert tonight with a friend, so I have the evening to myself (which is a total waste of my good hair, oh well). I envision time with my Neck Ease, a glass of wine, some girly TV, and reading my latest book (Julie & Julia – I enjoyed the movie and I’m really enjoying the book so far) to continue my nice relaxing day.

This entry was posted in me. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to pampered

  1. Zoe says:

    I feel more relaxed just reading about your day… How wonderful! Hope you thoroughly enjoy your evening and fully pamper yourself.

  2. Jenny says:

    so nice! i’m glad it was good 🙂 and yay for your $10 neck thingy! glad she said something about your points!

  3. Brandi says:

    You deserve it girl! I had an hour massage today too..it was wonderful! 🙂

  4. Oooh… well deserved. But now I’m jealous!

  5. E says:

    Money saving plan vs. wonderful neck thingy and massage? Uh, that’s a no brainer! haha You deserved it and needed it. What’s one day? That’s awesome about the neck thingy ending up being only $10. I love surprise money saving deals. I’m glad your stylist said something to you about it.

    So glad you’re feeling relaxed and had a nice day.

  6. sue says:

    sounds heavenly! i should find a way to stick a massage into our money saving plan!

  7. Christine says:

    Sometimes doing something for yourself is worth every. single. penny.

    Love that you got the neck thing for such a great price. That sounds wonderful…

  8. Michelle says:

    Sounds like a wonderful day. We all deserve them every now and then. I am also signed up for a day at the spa next Friday night. I cannot wait!

  9. rainingblossoms says:

    I love spa days! And I always feel so much better after I have gotten my hair trimmed. There is something so special about taking time just for yourself. I am so glad you did that!!

  10. live2roam says:

    So jealous!! Your spa looks amazing!!! I feel more relaxed just reading your post. I think that sometimes, sticking to the budget is over rated if it gets you back a little sanity! Hope you had a great evening!!

  11. Kelly Cole says:

    Yay for spa pampering! You deserve it, Kelly. We all do! So … I’m getting a hot rock massage tomorrow. Can’t wait. Your whole day/evening sounds just heavenly to me.

  12. CatherineD says:

    Ahhh… sounds like a perfect day of pampering. Hope your night was just as perfect. When you say “girly TV”, do you mean the Lifetime Network? Brian always makes fun of me because I end up watching cheesy Lifetime movies when he’s out.

    I love that you got the neck thingy for $10! Score!!!

    Budget, smudget… you need to take care of you, first and foremost!

  13. Mary says:

    Sounds absolutely heavenly! You deserve every second of it, truly.

  14. Courtney says:

    Julie & Julia = my new most favorite movie.

    I’m so glad you took the chance to pamper yourself- I think you should do that at least once a month. At least.

  15. Joanna says:

    Sounds like the day at the salon did just what it was supposed to. Enjoy!

  16. Erin says:

    Awesome!! Sounds like the splurge on the salon was WORTH It. I always feel guilty after getting my hair done but oh well. *shrugs*

    You will love the neck ease. I have one made out of rice and herbs. I put it in the microwave and it is like heavan when your neck hurts. I also used it for menstrual cramps and back aches and sometimes when I have a really bad sinus headache. I love that thing.

    • Kelly says:

      That’s exactly what this is! Love it already, and I can see how it would be useful at other times when a heating pad type of thing is in order. The box also says it can be put in the freezer and used as an ice pack as well.

  17. Michelle365 says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE…did I say LOVE Robert Andrew Day Spa. I’m taking a week off work next week and have been thinking about hanging out there and then of course making a run over to Marshall’s and Home Goods! (smile) It’s been a year since my visit to Robert Andrew and I know I’m overdue. I, like you, am in adoption fund mode so no, it doesn’t fit into our plans either but my honey has given me the okay….we’ll see!

  18. angela says:

    I so want a message. I got a pedicure last week and the tech noticed how sore my legs and feet were. She kneaded as much as she could. I need a full body. Sounds wonderful! Glad you enjoyed.

  19. angela says:

    I so want a message. I got a pedicure last week and the tech noticed how sore my legs and feet were. She kneaded as much as she could. Sounds wonderful! Glad you enjoyed.

  20. Emily B. says:

    We all need to remember to take time for ourselves every now and then!! The massage sounds heavenly! I also love the hot towels. Thinking about it makes me drool a little. 🙂

  21. Barbara Ball says:

    I just watched Julie and Julia and totally loved it. The massage sounds heavenly. I have a standing appointment for a massage once per month. It’s not a splurge – it’s an absolutely necessity. Never feel guilty about taking care of yourself!

  22. Christine K says:

    Sounds so wonderful! I’m glad you had a day of pampering and relaxation.
    I also loved the movie Julie and Julia–haven’t read the book yet but I really want to!

Leave a Reply

