just what the doctor ordered

I’m still figuring out the blog stuff. But don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere. Most of the blog will stay the same. But some of my Deep Thoughts (Jack Handey, anyone?) are going to go elsewhere.

*****

I received this photo from my friend the other day, and it was just what the doctor ordered to give me a little boost:

That’s Robin, daughter of our longtime great friends Scott and Courtney, wearing the sweater I made for her. She’s so adorable, and I love the combo of the pink cardigan and the denim overalls.

You might remember that I posted a few weeks ago a photo of another baby (Madeline) wearing another sweater. These two darling girls were born on consecutive days in July.

I’ve been thinking lately about what I could knit for our baby. I don’t think I’m ready to get into that type of thing yet, but at least I’m thinking about it.

*****

On another note, the doctor also ordered antibiotics, prescription decongestant, and more heavy-duty cough syrup for me yesterday. I had a cold in early December that turned into a sinus infection. The sinus infection cleared up with antibiotics – for the most part – but has lingered as ongoing cold-like symptoms of congestion and a terrible cough.  So now I have a trace of a sinus infection left and a bit of bronchitis. I’m less than 24 hours into the new meds but I’m hopeful that they’ll help me get over this crud. I’m really tired of the coughing.

This entry was posted in blog, friends, knit. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to just what the doctor ordered

  1. Zoe says:

    I occasionally deal with sinus infections and a few things that have helped me include: going off dairy while you’re struggling with it; and decreasing sugar, since sugar lowers immunity. Also, those neti pots (using sea-salted water) do seem to work. I got one last winter and haven’t had sinus issues since.

    • Kelly says:

      I use a neti pot daily (year-round) and I LOVE it. This is the first sinus infection I’ve had in a few years. I used to get them over and over and over again. I also just learned about the dairy thing from my acupuncturist…

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Adorable baby and sweater!!!
    Hope the new meds help you, poor girl!

  3. sue says:

    i hope the new medications work!!! i hate coughing too!

    and that sweater is so cute on that little cutie pie!

  4. Christine K says:

    I LOVE that sweater! So cute. I actually knitted a blanket for our baby way before we started the adoption process. It was kind of girly, so I never used it for Joel (never mind the fact that I never finished it either) but I found it to be theraputic. I hope the meds help your coughing!

  5. Michelle says:

    That sweater is super cute. I hope you feel better soon. The crude was in our household for way too long this winter!

  6. A.J. says:

    What a sweet sweater! I love to knit, but I’m afraid of anything with arms. I can’t believe you made two!

    We have two primary colors blankets, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten.

    Feel better!!! 🙂

  7. Kelly says:

    Eeek, a neti pot? I’m so impressed! Sorry about the lingering cough. After my bout of swine flu in November, I was left with a lingering cough for like 5 weeks. It sucked!! I hope this clears up with the meds.

    LOVE the sweater. I wish I was at that level with my knitting 🙂

  8. Jodi says:

    CUTE sweater! You are so talented!

    Ugh for being sick. I hope you are all better soon!

    I LOVE SNL and Jack Handey quotes. My all time favorite for some reason is: If you are a young mafia gangster out on your first date, I bet it’d be real embarrassing if someone tried to kill you.

    I’m weird, I know!

  9. Erin says:

    Aww hope you feel better!!

    Those sweaters are darn cute!

  10. Christine says:

    That sweater is adorable!! (As is the baby in it) I think that thinking about what your little one might need you to knit up is a good idea… I waited too long on that front!

    And i love my neti pot too – swear by it… now if only they would have that sort of thing for all my other ailments! 😉

    Feel better SOON!

  11. Kris says:

    You really are talented. I tried knitting once. I made a scarf and it ended there. I’m so impressed with that beautiful sweater. I hope those meds kick in and you feel better soon.

    P.S. I use a neti pot too!

  12. Amy says:

    The sweater is gorgeous! I wish I had that talent!

    I hope you feel better soon…remember to finish your antibiotics (I learned the hard way a few years ago) 🙂

  13. Beth says:

    Both of those sweaters are beautiful, Kelly!

  14. Emily says:

    Sweater is SO cute. Are you on Ravelry? What is the pattern name?

  15. Emily B. says:

    The sweater is adorable!! I had three sinus infections in 2009 so I can totally relate. They are such a pain. I hope this round of antibiotics clears it up!

  16. CatherineD says:

    I’m cracking up from reading Jodi’s favorite quote. I love those Jack Handey Deep Thoughts.

    Okay, I used to use a neti pot, but another friend who uses it daily said that sometimes water gushes out of his nose at random times throughout the day. Even though it never happened to me, I am way too vain to risk it. So I stopped using it. Does that happen to you? I guess since I’m not working anymore, it’s not that big a deal. I just didn’t want to be in the middle of a meeting and my nose starts gushing. Ummm… awkward?

    Cute sweater! You are so talented! Hope you feel better soon. That lingering cough is the worst.

    • Kelly says:

      Oh, my! I would not want to use a neti pot if that happened to me! But it never has. I was afraid of trying one for the longest time, but I finally got my nerve up, and it is so helpful. I have year-round allergies, and they’re especially bad in the spring, and this past spring was the best spring allergy season I’ve had in my entire life. And I really think that’s due to the neti pot flushing things out on a daily basis.

  17. Janet says:

    Sweet baby in a beautiful sweater…kudos, my friend…kudos to you!

    I love that you are starting to think about what to knit for YOUR child. That is great. I ended up knitting a blanket & a sweater. It really was wonderful to think about our child as I sat knitting. I did the blanket before we got our referral and the sweater after. Now I wish I had done more before he came home…but at the time it was the perfect amount for me.

  18. Brandi says:

    Beautiful sweater on that adorable baby! 🙂 Wish you were knitting when my kids were babies. LOL!

    Hope the drugs kill it all this time. My last one went on through 2 rounds of antibiotics. Bleh. Feel better my friend!

  19. Leah says:

    You are so talented! I love the sweater, and what a cute little girl that it’s on. 😀

  20. Krista says:

    Feel better once and for all!

    Here is a Deep Thought for you:

    “I hope if dogs ever take over the world, and they chose a king, they don’t just go by size, because I bet there are some Chihuahuas with some good ideas.”
    Love Jack Handy

  21. Jennifer says:

    You are so talented – love that sweater – and you have the cutest model!

    Hope you feel better – being sick is the worst.

  22. E says:

    Hope you’re feeling better….

    As soon as I saw the pic, I thought, “adorable little girl…wonder where the sweater is from”

    Love it! You need to sell your stuff on etsy.com (I’m addicted to this site). You do such a great job. You could make a few bucks too;)

  23. live2roam says:

    The sweater looks great!! Hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

