protected

I am going to start writing a few password-protected posts. As open as I’ve been here, I’m cognizant of the fact that I might not want unidentified people reading everything I have to say. Particularly, I worry about someone from our agency reading and thinking, Holy cow, we should not let that woman have a child! (I really do have this thought from time to time.)

I still plan on the bulk of my posts being open. The password protection will only apply to an occasional post here or there.

If we have met through blogging or the various online communities I’m a part of, I’d love for you to have the password. I don’t care if you are a regular reader, or if you’ve only just now started to read, or whatever. Please just ask and I will give it to you. Leave a comment below or send me an email.

But here’s the hard part: Family and friends (other than those defined above), I’m going to have to draw a very difficult line. I am not going to give you the password. I will not be talking about you behind your backs or saying anything that you really need to know. You won’t be missing anything as far as the adoption goes. As I said, the majority of the blog will still be open for everyone to read. But honestly, there are times when I need a more anonymous audience for my thoughts. I think I have been a bit too open at times here (you’re probably thinking, you’re telling me!), but still, there are things I haven’t been able to say on this blog because of some of the readership. I hope you aren’t hurt or offended. But this is my blog and it’s what I need to do for now.

So, with those parameters in place, please let me know if you want the password. And I suppose this means I have to actually choose a password!

This entry was posted in blog, me. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to protected

  1. A.J. says:

    Kelly, I have DEFINITELY worried that someone from our agency will see my posts and think I’m unfit to be a parent! But that’s what all those tons of paperwork and hours of interviews were for, right? šŸ˜›

    I also understand wanting to have an anonymous audience. I very rarely give friends or family the address to my blog unless they ask. It’s not that I don’t want them to read it, it’s just that I’m self-conscious about how much I open myself up there (I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’m an avid “over-sharer” myself). I’m normally a very, very private person, but I think because of that fact, I have a greater need to vent.

    Long story, long, I’d love to have your password, if you’d be willing to share it with me. šŸ™‚

  2. Deirdre says:

    I would like to have your password please.

  3. Kris says:

    I’d love to keep reading!

  4. Janet says:

    I understand your feelings. I would love to continue to follow your posts…password protected & all. Thank you.

  5. Kelly says:

    Kelly – totally understandable. Sometimes I think I should change to wordpress so I can do SOME password-protected posts now and then. Needless to say, I’d like your password please šŸ™‚

  6. Completely understandable…and yes please. šŸ™‚

  7. Jodi says:

    Kelly
    No one in my family knows my blog exists, and very few friends IRL are readers, only those who have had baby lossese themselves. I prefer it that way! I want people to read my blog not because they are being nosy, but because they care about the content, and it “hits home” with them!!!

    That being said, of course I want your password so we can continue to support each other on this crazy journey!!!

  8. Rach@InHisHands says:

    Totally understandable! There have been a few times when I wish I could’ve password”ed” some of my posts….so I know what you mean!
    I’d love to have the password. Please!

  9. Rain says:

    Kelly,
    I would love to have your password. I have the upmost respect for what you are doing.

  10. Erin says:

    Well, of course I would love to stay with your blog and have the password. But, that will be your decision šŸ˜‰

  11. Evelyn says:

    Count me in, if you are willing!

  12. Jennifer says:

    Me, me, please give me your password!

    I completely get it! My family blog (where I post photos of my son and my husband…where I put specifics about our family life..is actually private to invited readers only.)

  13. E says:

    Totally understandable and relatable. I would love to get the password. thanks

  14. Katrina says:

    I was just thinking today that I’ve dug myself into a whole on my blog, because I don’t feel free to tell the dirty truth sometimes based on family or friends who are reading it. Some people don’t want to know that there are still hard days, and expect us to be “over” our infertility and lost child because we’re adopting now.

    I didn’t know this password thing was a possibility for certain posts! I wonder if that works on blogspot?

    Anyhow, would love your password.

    ~Katrina

  15. Barbara Ball says:

    I would like your password, please…I’m a quiet reader up in Canada, another adoptive mom, who is excited to follow your journey šŸ™‚

  16. Meg DeZutti says:

    totally get it. I actually do the protected posts BECAUSE of some family members.
    would love the password myself!

  17. Kate says:

    Completely understand your decision. I just switched to wordpress for the very same reasons. I’d love to continue following your blog.

  18. I hope I can have the password!!!

  19. live2roam says:

    I would love to keep reading! You are such a great writer with honest opinions! I love it!

    -Gwen

  20. Stephen says:

    It’s so great to see you as a major part of redefining the words community and family!

  21. sue says:

    i would love to have the password!

  22. Joanna says:

    Though I’m a new reader, one of my favorite parts of your blog is your total honesty with your feelings. So, yes please I would like the password.

  23. kristine says:

    totally get it – and i see you changed your mind

    no one in my work life knows i have a blog
    my family – i don’t think they read – some know some don’t

    most of my in person friends don’t know

    so…i get it…

    hang in there!

  24. Robin says:

    I’d like your password.. You can leave it on my blog or email it to rthagard at cfl.rr.com šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

