snow day

We’re having a snow day here (which is likely to become a snow weekend, since it’s supposed to continue to snow all day today and overnight) – I bet we’re up to about 11-12″ now and it’s still really coming down. While school kids everywhere are disappointed that the storm came on the weekend, I love it, because it doesn’t mess up work, we didn’t really have any other plans, and we don’t have to feel bad about sitting at home all day.

I’m just about to make some tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch, because, wow, that sounds good! And we’ve got fixings to make lasagna for dinner. Good old cold-weather comfort food.

The day will be spent catching up on some Tivo, doing some knitting, killing some 14-year-olds (that’s Craig’s way of describing his World of Warcraft play), and generally lounging and being lazy. And it sounds great to me. I’m recovering from a sinus infection and Craig seems to be coming down with some sort of a cold, so we’re all about laying low anyway.

We don’t get snow like this very often here in Baltimore. I think last year we got about 18″ total for the entire winter, and that came in 4 or 5 tiny little batches. We had a huge record-setting storm in February 2003 where we got 27″ (which was so much fun I could hardly stand it, until the melting snow flooded our basement) and I remember a storm in January 1999, I think, where we got about a foot. But those are the only two snowstorms in 12 winters that I can remember, which just sort of shows how infrequently we get good snows. So, I think this is just fun! (Remember, I grew up in Michigan. I figure if it’s gonna be cold, why not have snow?)

And I made it snow on the blog! Fun…

*****

Also, I want to thank everyone for their support and kind thoughts and prayers regarding Craig’s mom. (Note to self: I need to remind Craig to come back to read through all of the comments. He will really appreciate them.) This is obviously a difficult time, but we’re going to do what we can to support her. To that end, we have postponed our Christmas trip to Nashville (and made it into a New Year’s trip) and we’ll be staying here for Christmas. His mom’s first chemo is on Monday and we want to be here for her. I’m not sure there will be any real festivities for Christmas, but we’ll at least see her and hopefully Craig’s aunt and cousin (and his family), who all live in Northern Virginia. We’ll see how it all works out.

This entry was posted in family, life. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to snow day

  1. Enjoy your snow!!! I’m glad it’s yours and not ours. 10 years of living in Chicago cured me of any affinity for the white stuff. I learned to despise it. I like now, in STL, it snows rarely and when it does, it disappears quickly. Glad you have it, though 🙂

    • Kelly says:

      I should clarify that I don’t miss Michigan winters – they are too long, too gray, and too cold. But, I do like the occasional snow, and I prefer it to be a real snow and not just an inch or two (which is usually just annoying). Up to probably 15-16″ now!

  2. Jenny says:

    we got some snow too! only about 5-6″ for us. but that’s a lot for NC! i love your blog snow! i want some!!! i’m glad you’re going to be there for Craig’s mom… i’m sure she’s glad too.

  3. Rain says:

    I love snow, but don’t get much of it out west! I am praying that everything goes well on Monday.

  4. Emily says:

    Snow DAy! I want one!

  5. Erin says:

    Its just sleeting here for now. Supposed to snow tonight. We shall see.

    What a crappy way to start the week before Christmas, with radiation. I am glad you two will be there for her.

  6. sue says:

    we just got a dusting of snow today :(.

    and i agree, if it’s going to be cold, there should be snow along with it!

    i hope all goes well on monday, i’ll be thinking of you all – but especially Craig’s mom.

    enjoy your weekend indoors – i love days when it is snowy outside and i have a full refrigerator and i can just enjoy myself! they make great crafting days!

  7. Christine says:

    Normally I love hunkering down too… but today it’s just making me stir crazy. I don’t really know why. Maybe I still feel like I have too much to do before the holiday?! Maybe it’s because a lot of our plans were cancelled due to the storm that has yet to appear?!

    Regardless, I’m really glad that you are enjoying it! 🙂

  8. Kris says:

    Enjoy your snow weekend! It sounds lovely with knitting, yummy food and staying close to home. So glad you can be there for Craig’s mom. I’ll be thinking of her Monday.

  9. Shawn says:

    Your day sounds like ours. We’re even having Lasagne for dinner. I feel sort of guilty being so lazy (lol)

  10. Kelly Cole says:

    I’m completely jealous of your snow day! We have rain (go figure in Seattle).

  11. Brandi says:

    Go out and make a snow angel for me!! I don’t miss that AT ALL!!!!

  12. klarobinson215 says:

    Yeah for snow! And comfort food… yum! Just looked at the forecast for Thursday and Friday – we are getting rain. Please send some snow my way!
    Hope all goes well on Monday.

  13. Mary says:

    Glad to hear that you’re enjoying the snow. I love snow days too, and comfort food makes them all the better!

    Will keep your family in my thoughts for Monday. It’ll be a comfort to your mother-in-law to have you there for her. Hope it all goes well.

  14. E says:

    I just done shoveling… I hate winter!

    Thinking good thoughts for your MIL and family…my MIL just finished a round of radiation for her breast cancer that came back. I understand how you’re feeling.

  15. Matt says:

    Yeah snow! I wish we had that out here.

    Talk to you soon

    matt

  16. CatherineD says:

    Oh, I’m so jealous of your snow!

    I forgot that you live in Baltimore. Is that where Charm City Cakes is? It’s one of our favorite shows!

    • Kelly says:

      Yes! Actually, the bakery is less than 1/2 mile from my office, so I go by it all the time. I ran into Geof at the post office a few weeks ago, and we’ve met Duff and Mary Alice at a couple of events. Craig’s FB photo for the longest time was a photo with him and Duff. (So, umm, yeah, we’re fans, too!)

Leave a Reply

