worried wednesday

Craig and his mom (Heide)

I mentioned last week that Craig’s mom had been diagnosed with breast cancer. Yesterday she had her oncology appointment to hear the test results and make a treatment plan.

The news was not good.

She was diagnosed with incurable stage 4 breast cancer. It has spread to at least two lymph nodes and her liver. The doctor said it is a very aggressive form (triple negative). He gave her an average life expectancy of 12 months.

We were not expecting this.

Craig went to the appointment with her and said she was stoic. He asked her how she was feeling (emotionally) and she said, “Well, I don’t like to be sad.” Wow, I wish I could find that attitude. That’s pretty amazing.

The plan as of now is to do a few rounds of chemo to shrink the tumors and give her more time. He said the response to the first chemo treatment will be very telling. Her quality of life is important to all of us, so that will be a consideration as well.

This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to worried wednesday

  1. ALan says:

    Kelly, so sorry to hear this news. Lindy and I will be thinking about you guys…

  2. Allison says:

    So sorry to hear about your MIL. Cancer sucks! praying for you guys

  3. Erin says:

    I am so sorry to hear that. I lost my young aunt and grandfather to cancer in less than a year. It is very sad.

    I will continue to think about you guys.

  4. Meg DeZutti says:

    Oh Kelly! I’m so sorry to hear this.
    I’m doing the AWBC this year, and will be thinking of your MIL every step of the way.

  5. Christine says:

    I have absolutely no words. You will *all* be in my thoughts and prayers though. (As you have been)

    Sending you lots of virtual (((hugs))) – I wish I could deliver them in person.

  6. Kelly, I am so sorry to read this. You are all in my thoughts. Take care of each other.

  7. Rob & Beth says:

    So sorry about the awful news. We’ll be praying for you both too.

  8. Kelly says:

    Oh man. I can’t tell you how sorry I am for you and Craig. I’ve been having a bad day (all stupid stuff like drowning at work) and this stopped me in my tracks. Puts what’s really important in perspective – family. I’m hoping for the best. Miracles do happen.

  9. Jennifer says:

    Oh Kelly, I’m so very sorry for your family right now, that is not the news anyone wants to hear about a loved one. Prayers are being said for you all!

  10. sue says:

    i am sending prayers and hugs your way. . .

  11. Jamey says:

    Prayers and love coming your way. So sorry, sweetheart!

  12. Jenny says:

    oh, geez. i’m so so sorry. i didn’t expect this at all. i will be praying for a miracle and for comfort for everyone.

  13. Jenny says:

    I’m so sorry. Tell Craig our prayers are with him and his Mom.

  14. Emily B. says:

    Hi Kelly. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and for your kind words. I love meeting other women going through the adoption process. I look forward to following your journey. I am so sorry to hear about your mother in law. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  15. Wow, Kelly. I am so incredibly sorry about this news. Please know that we are thinking of you and sending positive, healing energy for you all!!!

  16. Deirdre says:

    Kelly,
    I am so incredibly sorry to hear about your mother in law. My thoughts are with you and Craig and his mom. Take care of each other.
    Deirdre

  17. Zoe says:

    I’m sorry, Kelly, that’s very hard and sad news. She is blessed to have the support and love of both of you. I pray the time she is granted is the richest in her life yet — and for Craig and her, too. You’re all in my prayers.

  18. CatherineD says:

    Kelly, I’m so sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. Thinking of you and your family… Big hugs…

  19. Brandi says:

    ((HUGS)) for you guys! Try to make the most of your time with her!!

  20. Janet says:

    Oh, Kelly…this post hurts my heart. I’m so sorry your MIL received this news. As someone who has battled cancer (myself), I know how scary and overwhelming it can feel to get news like this. It really takes your breath away and leaves you feeling completely socked in the gut and at a total loss. But…it is amazing how much closer it will bring you also…and it brings out the fighter in so many of us. Quality of life is SO IMPORTANT when going through this, like you said. It sounds like you are already thinking of all the right things. You all will be in my thoughts…as you face this together as a family. Hugs to you.

  21. Krista says:

    I’m so sorry to read about your news. Take care of one another, and make this Christmas extra special. Thinking of you.

  22. Robin says:

    Oh no!! Kelly, what awful news to hear during the holidays.. or even any time of the year. 😦 I’m so, so sorry..

  23. Kris says:

    Oh Kelly, I am so, so sorry to hear this news. I’m thinking of you and your family.

  24. Erica says:

    Oh Kelly, I am so sorry for you and your family. I hate cancer. I will keep your family in my prayers.

    Erica

  25. Nikki says:

    Oh no! I am so very sorry.

  26. Julie says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. Will be keeping her, and you guys, in my thoughts. I hate cancer so much.

  27. Jodi says:

    Kelly, I am so, so sorry to hear about your mother in law. My grandmother in law had breast cancer…it is evil. I’ll be thinking and praying for her. (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

