santa came early!

So, for the past few weeks I’ve been not-so-subtly wanting to get a Droid. I’ve been fairly overt in my comments to Craig about it, and I’ve used my best lawyerly skills to argue my case, because he needed some convincing that this was in fact a reasonable acquisition. Earlier this week, though, I decided I’d better stop hounding him about it, or he’d tell Santa not to bring me one for Christmas. I figured I’d reached the point of diminishing returns and any further pestering would actually hurt my chances of getting one. So I’ve stayed relatively quiet.

(However, I did make sure he knew that I had lowered a couple of the household bills by about $75/month… more than enough to cover the cost of a new data plan. Because that was helpful and relevant information, you know.)

Anyway, through a series of events today, I figured out that not only was I getting a Droid for Christmas, but also that he had acquired it and set up the service today! It started with a phone call from him in the middle of the day casually asking for the last four digits of my SSN. I said, “What for?” (while also thinking, “How can you not already know this after 9.5 years of marriage?”, but I kept that part to myself) and he said, “No reason.”  Umm, yeah. Whatever. That’s a totally normal thing to just ask at random without any reason. (It turns out he was in the store and trying to access our account, which is under my name and information.) And then a bit later I got an email from Google Voice telling me I had a new voice message, which was strange because my phone hadn’t rung and it didn’t even register a missed call. (BTW, Google Voice is pretty cool!) I went to return that call and learned that my phone was no longer connected to any service. And at one point he said he had a surprise for me. So the clues definitely added up. Poor Craig has a terrible time surprising me with gifts.

Now, some of you might think that getting my Christmas present now will spoil the fun later… but it just doesn’t. We’re not traditional gift-givers. Our gifts to each other are usually mutually pre-determined. They often include major household appliances (I gave him a washer and he gave me a dryer one year, and there was a water heater at one point, too) or we do things like say a trip we’re taking is our gift to each other. This year we gave each other golf clubs for our birthdays and anniversary (which are all within a month). We’re just pretty practical. So, anyway, it’s not a giant letdown in terms of unwrapping Christmas presents, because we just really don’t do that. (And Craig is still deciding whether he wants a new monitor for his home computer or a couple of pots and pans for his cooking for Christmas this year. Either option will involve him telling me exactly what he wants. Like I said, we’re practical people.)

I’ve already spent a couple of hours on the Droid tonight, starting to get things set up. I even added the WordPress application, although I certainly won’t be writing posts of my usual length on it. (And really, it’s okay with me if you’re thinking, Maybe that’s a good thing. I had that thought, too!) And sure enough, while I write this post (using my laptop), Craig is playing with my Droid. Let’s see how long until we’re making another purchase!

Yay for my fabulous husband! 🙂

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to santa came early!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh girl. You crack me up. Firstly, Adam and I are the same about gifts: very practical, very few surprises. I can totally relate to the “he gets a washer, I get a dryer” thing. And the funniest part is it doesn’t bother me/us at all! I’m tellin’ ya… the four of us need to hang out sometime!.
    Secondly, I love that you reached “the point of diminishing returns” on arguing your way to what you want. sigh… I’ve been there *so* many times.
    Best of all, I like that you worked your monthly bills down *just enough* to justify the expense. So totally awesome.

    • Kelly says:

      Glad to hear we’re not the only practical ones on gift-giving! I often also think that our relationships with our husbands sound similar – and I often also think how much I’d love to meet you guys! Someday…

  2. sue says:

    this is great! go Craig!

    i can’t blame him for not knowing the last 4 digits of your SSN. sadly after 8.5 years of marriage i still cannot remember my husband’s SSN! it’s closer to memory now that we have filled out so much adoption paperwork!

    i love the practical gifts too! one year i got a new kitchen aid mixer – it was birthday and anniversary all rolled into one. i don’t know what i would do without that thing.

    yay for you getting your monthly bills down! you are awesome! please tell us when Craig gets his Droid! we have electronic envy in our house too :).

  3. Ryan Fleming says:

    I just became the unintentional owner of a new iPhone. My year-old Palm Centro got its screen smashed last weekend – Verizon doesn’t carry Palm anymore and the equivalent would’ve cost $300 and a brand-new contract complete with data plan. It was actually cheaper for me to chuck the Palm, buy out my Verizon contract and get a new iPhone. I hate spending the money on the monthly data plan because I can go 10 seconds without checking my email. But I needed a phone with details about contacts, a calendar, etc. If you want that kind of functionality you’re stuck with a data plan. What can I say – life’s tough but now I’ve got a hip new phone like everyone else!

  4. Erin says:

    Yeay on the gift!! I am glad you got it.

  5. Jenny says:

    yay! i’m glad you got one!!!! we’re thinking of switching to verizon next year when our service contract with at&t rolls around… at&t’s coverage is NOT what it’s cracked up to be!!! i’m sure by then they’ll have a droid 2.0 or something, but right now, i’m envious of your droid 🙂 have fun with it!!!

  6. Jennifer says:

    Great gift…enjoy it! I have an iPhone and love it.

  7. Kris says:

    Kelly we are exactly the same way with gift giving. Actually we don’t exchange gifts because we just discuss what is needed or what we would like and then decide how to make it happen. Every now and then we’ll surprise each other with something, but it’s never on a specific day.

    I love how you got your monthly bills down by $75 – I need to try that – any tips? And keep us posted on how you like the Droid!

  8. kellycole says:

    Congrats on getting the droid! I’ve heard those are cool. Although I’m still an iphone girl myself. Btw, I love that you used your “lawyerly” skills. I do that myself sometimes in our household. Our husbands don’t stand a chance!

  9. Christine says:

    YAY for the Droid!!!

    We are pretty practical with gifts as well… which is why the two unknown boxes upstairs are driving me insane!!! 🙂

    I love how you noted that you “reached the point of diminishing returns.” I often miss that point. Or lately, my husband gives in earlier. Who knows.

    Note to Craig… next time you need SS info use the phrase “my work needs to update my beneficiary information” It works on me every. single. time.

  10. Leah says:

    YAY for Christmas coming early and for your husband. I hope you enjoy it. 😀 My friend just got one and I’ve played with it a bit. . . it seems great. 😀

  11. Emily says:

    Yep… I’ve officially changed my RSS feed to your new blog! Matt and I are the same way… I remember one time we went to the mall and bought each other gifts… we gave them to each other five minutes later in the middle of the mall, ha ha!

  12. Rain says:

    I adore my iPhone! I know how you feel!! Merry Christmas early!

  13. angela says:

    I asked for granite counter tops for Christmas, but I think I’m getting another wedding ring. I guess that’s practical because we think the carpet cleaner may have stolen mine last month. Boy, I really want those countertops though. Maybe I should get them for his gift….hmmm. lol.

  14. angela says:

    PS. Congrats on the Droid. I don’t even know what it is, but it sounds pretty fancy. lol.

  15. Stephen says:

    Droid or iPhone… at least it’s not a Crackberry! hehe.. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

