therapy thursday

Thank you all for the virtual hugs (and the in-person hug, Amy) and the kind words and support. The simple exercise of writing about how I was feeling was therapeutic to me, and the love I got in response was incredibly helpful. I am so grateful to have you all in my life, one way or another.

I know that I’m not the only person in the world to have some sad times. And I know that my difficulties are nothing in comparison to what some have to face. But I also know enough about myself to recognize that when I’m feeling down, I become easily overwhelmed. I do know, though, that it’s not really all as bad as it can seem at times.

I also feel like an idiot for feeling so sorry for myself when my husband is dealing with his mom’s cancer diagnosis. When I mentioned her cancer yesterday, I meant that my sadness and concern in that regard is for him. It’s hard to see your hubby hurting. His story is not mine to tell, but I will say that his relationship with his mom is not a typical mother-son relationship. We don’t see her very often even though she lives only an hour and a half away. We are still waiting on test results and hope that a treatment plan will be made next week at her next oncology appointment.

Anyway, it’s Thursday and that means it’s therapy day for me. Yay for therapy.

This entry was posted in life, me. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to therapy thursday

  1. What is a blog if not a venue to vent and seek support? I think I speak for all of us when I say that we’re glad to be your sounding boards for anything and everything!!!

  2. Thai-An says:

    Sending you and Craig lots of good thoughts and wishing you both some comfort this holiday season. You two are such a strong couple that I know you’ll support each other well through everything!

  3. Jenny says:

    i’m hoping the tests come back with better news than expected!

  4. Christine says:

    Yay for therapy is right! I’m thinking of you… hang in there. (And please don’t feel like an idiot for feeling how you do… even though that is easier for me to say than for you to do probably…)

  5. Robin says:

    I’ve just spent a little while reading through your posts from the past few days. This new blog site, as much as I like it, means you’ve disapeared off my dashboard and I have to remember to jump over here to see you. Which is fine of course… I just want to explain my lack of commenting! I’m still around, I still care, I just might be in and out a bit.

    I am so sorry you’ve had a rough time the past few days. I know how hard it is to see your husband hurting.. my husband’s mom passed away from cancer a year ago on Saturday. He had a very hard time with her death and is now dealing with the after math of his dad dating. Anyway, I hope your MIL’s illness isn’t this serious and that the appointment goes well.

    I always felt that it was so hard to be there for DH when he was always such a rock for me with all of my emotional drama.

    Anyway, I’m writing too much… I hope the next few days improve for you!

    ((big hugs))

  6. Evelyn says:

    Hope therapy did you a world of good. I cry a lot and get overwhelmed, too. Life – so beautiful and so hard!

  7. live2roam says:

    I hope therapy was good. I think it is easy to become overwhelmed when you are down, I can do the same thing. Hope things are looking up.

  8. Krista says:

    Don’t feel bad about venting your feelings – we are here to listen and support 🙂

  9. Brandi says:

    we are all entitled to whine, vent, and feel sorry for ourselves. should I go pull out some all college pics to give you a good giggle?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

