my new obsession

Wow, I feel like it has been forever since I posted, but it’s only been a couple of days. I guess that daily blogging routine got to me. I admit to stifling the urge to blog a couple of times on Tuesday, but I refrained because I was having a terrible day and it just would have been a bunch of whining. I’m all for whining at times (please refer to about half of the posts on this blog!), but it would have been a terrible post and I just decided to skip posting.

Yesterday I took the day off and volunteered at the animal shelter all day. We do an annual poinsettia sale as a fundraiser, and if people order over a certain number of plants, we deliver them to their homes or businesses. We’re hoping to draw in big purchasers like office buildings, churches, and so on. (Unfortunately we didn’t sell as many as we would have liked, but it was still enough to raise a few thousand dollars for the spay/neuter program.)

Anyway, as a result of being either at the shelter or on the road all day (I left the house at 7:15am and got home at 8:00pm), I was completely unplugged. I had no access to email, Facebook, or Google Reader. I felt so lost and disconnected! By the time I got home and logged on, I had 250 posts in Facebook, 65 emails (not counting work – I didn’t look at that until this morning), and 95 new items in my Reader. I’m very compulsive about keeping up with my electronic communication, so when I’m away from my computer all day, I feel a sense of withdrawal. It was like I had lost my connection to the rest of the world.

I’ve had iPhone envy for a couple of years now, but didn’t want to switch phone providers, so I never paid much attention to getting one. But now that Verizon has the Droid, I’m obsessed! Craig has been resisting the change, not because of the cost of the device, but because of the increase in the monthly cost. (I can respect that to a point, especially since we are trying to reduce costs overall, but then again, it’s $30/month, which isn’t huge.) The other part of Craig’s resistance is that he knows he can’t let his wife have better technology than he has, so HE will have to get one as well.

I am finding more and more occasions where I could use a device like this. Sometimes it’s when I’m out on the road all day and want to be able to check in. (How cool would it be to be able to use something like this while on a 9-hour drive to Michigan?) Sometimes it’s more practical, like when I’m sitting in a hearing room for hours for work with nothing to do, or needing to check something in my inbox while sitting in a meeting, or needing access to my calendar (because I refuse to carry a paper version of a calendar around – which is dumb, I know). And sometimes it’s just for fun, like if we’re out running errands and we’re curious about the movie listings or something like that.

But the bottom line is that I want one. I need one. I’m obsessed with getting one.

To plead my case, I’ve been hounding Craig in a playful way. I throw it into conversation here or there. He’ll ask a question and I’ll say, “If only I had a Droid, I could look that up right now and tell you the answer!” My mom was in on the hounding over Thanksgiving, since she’s getting one. (Talk about bad for a software engineer – now his mother-in-law will have better technology than he does!) This morning Craig sent me an IM commenting on the commercial the DVR was apparently paused on last night. I had no idea what he meant; I honestly just paused it in the middle of a show because I was tired and ready to go to bed. It turns out I happened to pause it on a Droid commercial and he thought I was sending him a message. πŸ™‚

In the end I can certainly go out and buy one for myself. I don’t need my husband’s permission for that, and it’s not a major expense. However, we respect each other and we like to make decisions (especially when money is involved) that we both feel good about. So I will continue to hound him until he feels good about it (or, until I wear him down, whichever comes first!), or, until perhaps Santa brings me a Droid.

Hey, Santa, are you listening?!

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to my new obsession

  1. Kris says:

    I know what you mean about not being connected all day. I’ve become so addicted to blogs, FB and e-mail. I would love an iPhone or Droid, it would be so handy. I hope Craig gives in and you both get one πŸ™‚

  2. Erin says:

    Go buy that phone!! πŸ˜‰

  3. Hee hee. I love that we can see your thought process throughout this post πŸ™‚ I love that you’re as dependent on the internet as I feel… I love that “need” and “want” are used relatively interchangeably. But most of all I LOVE that you and Craig make decisions like this together! Adam and I are the same way, and you’re right, that it’s showing respect for each other. So nice.

  4. Jenny says:

    it’s nice to know i’m not the only one with these feelings πŸ™‚

  5. Christine says:

    You do need a droid. It makes for a much happier, stress free lifestyle. (I do not have a Droid, but you know I just recently got the iPhone and it has changed. my. life.) Besides all the ways you’ve mentioned, it’s also gotten me out of a couple of jams. For example I was running around yesterday and got behind schedule. I was able to pull up all*recipes, and find something to make for dinner. The market was on my way home so I got the ingredients and still had dinner on the table at 5:30. Normally I would order take out or something. So really, the droid could save you money and extra calories as well…

    Just saying.

  6. Amy says:

    You already know that we love our phones. They are so, so useful. I’ve done the “looking up a recipe online from the grocery store” thing many times. It is also a good “where is the closest gas station/Starbucks/post office/whatever” tool when you are out running errands or are in an unfamiliar area.

  7. Craig says:

    So my question is why a droid necessarily? Why not a blackberry or an iphone?

    • Kelly says:

      Umm, passive-aggressive much, honey? πŸ˜‰ But apparently you want me to answer your questions in a semi-public forum, so I will. No iPhone because we (both of us) don’t want to switch providers. No Blackberry because it doesn’t have the full functionality of the Droid, no keyboard, no touch-screen features, etc.

      • Kelly says:

        Err, not that the Blackberry doesn’t have a keyboard, but it’s a much smaller keyboard. And the Droid has 3 keyboard options.

        • Christine says:

          I went from a bberry to an iPhone very begrudgingly… And would never go back to a blackberry again!! It is just not that functional beyond email, phone and texts. I can now conduct my whole life on this… Which is necessary when running after a toddler! And for the record, my husband is the one who convinced me to buy it, telling me it would resolve a lot of my overwhelming feelings of falling behind. He was 100 percent right!

  8. E says:

    I have serious iPhone envy. I don’t know much about the droid, but maybe when I hear more (or read about yours;)), I’ll have droid envy too. I recently got a pseudo-iphone through AT&T, thinking mainly about the cost. I was dumb. I need the iphone (or droid). That will have to wait, since it wasn’t too long ago that I got this phone. *sigh* I’ll have to live vicariously through you.

  9. Aileen says:

    I’m dying for the iPhone to hit Verizon. I was hoping for this spring, but now I’m hearing it’s going to be 2011. So…I’ll probably be in the market for a Droid soon, too. If I get mine first, I promise to pester Craig about it just like I reminded him to change the sheets before he left for Thanksgving πŸ™‚

  10. Chelsea Conger says:

    They are buy-one-get-one-free right now at Verizon.com !!! Buy one for yourself and one for Craig to boot!

    Just call me Santa πŸ˜‰

  11. πŸ™‚

    Hope Santa’s reading!

  12. Leah says:

    I am also obsessed with my electronic communication and keeping up with it. I was never so bad, but then I caved and got an iphone, and this was my first smart phone. I will sit and be watching a great movie, and check my email on my phone every 5 minutes. Yes, I’ve become obsessive! πŸ˜‰ I hope Santa is reading this also. πŸ™‚

  13. Scott says:

    Please, please, feel free to casually sing the praises of the Droid to Courtney. I want one desperately, and you have the touch for getting her on board with new technology.

  14. Brandi says:

    I have the HTC version and love it! It has been a learning curve, but I’m attached to it. Yes, the version I have is now buy one get one. Craig…buy your loving wife a Droid. Please. It will make her happy!

  15. Tami says:

    LOL. I’ve often thought about that phone but I’m on Sprint. I also think I am way to connected. I’m trying to cut down on my technology usage. It is making me crazy I tell you!

  16. Janet says:

    I hope Santa hears your plea. You’ve certainly convined ME you need it!!

  17. Rain says:

    I adore my iPhone. I dropped it for the second time this morning, and will probably get upgraded sometime this month. Take it from me, it will change your life!!! Any smart phone will change your life. I now have access to information, contacts, games, and even weather while I am away from my laptop! I know how you feel about obsession with these devices.

    Good luck with it!

  18. angela says:

    Hey Kelly,

    Thanks for following my blog and supporting me in good times and in bad. I really has meant a lot to me. I believe you’re a geniune person with a big heart.

    Angie

Leave a Reply

