30 days

Hey, I did it! I blogged every day this month as part of NaBloPoMo. I’ll be the first to admit that some posts were better than others, and also that I struggled at times to come up with topics. I wasn’t very motivated last week when I was out of my regular routine, and I even contemplated throwing in the towel at 11:15pm Friday night when I was thinking, Oh man, I still have to post something to the blog. *&$#@! Nevertheless, I persevered, and it feels good to accomplish something I set out to do.

I don’t plan to continue to blog every day. You might hear from me a few days in a row, or maybe twice a week. We’ll see how it works out. I’m hoping, though, that this exercise got me into a groove so that the next time a blog topic pops into my mind, I will write about it instead of letting it sit in my head for days (until I eventually forget it).

While I’m on the subject of blog topics, I’ve been thinking about something lately. Some might expect my blog to be more focused on our adoption or maybe my ongoing emotional struggles with infertility and pregnancy loss. I know that those subjects are what drew most readers to the blog. But I always think back to the reason why I started this blog in the first place. (Here’s my very impressive and exciting first post. It’s a good thing most of you didn’t see that at the time, or else you surely wouldn’t have come back for more! And to those friends and family members who did read it and are still reading: You rock!) At that time, about two and a half years ago, I hadn’t yet discovered the fabulous world of blogs outside of a few that family and friends had started. I simply wanted a place to share stories about family, travels, gardening, knitting, dogs, and so on.

Over time, the blog evolved into more. Once I opened up a bit about some of our family-building struggles, I learned that other people out there – people I did not know in real life, even! – found some of what I had to say informative and helpful. And I learned that they could offer support to me, the been-there-done-that kind of support that I was having a hard time finding elsewhere.

So, anyway, this is my blog and I know it can be about whatever I want it to be about. I’m going to write what I feel like writing. So you may have to read more about my teenage crushes or watch videos of my dogs or see some knitting projects mixed in with the bigger stuff. It’s all a part of my life, and that’s what this blog is about.

With that said, I’m quite certain you won’t be hearing from me tomorrow. I need a break!

This entry was posted in blog, life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 30 days

  1. Right on! You made it through! I definitely struggle with the daily thing, but it’s something I’ve willed myself to do, and now I think I’d miss it. But I definitely have posts that lack luster every now and then 🙂
    And I say it’s your blog and you do what you want, honey!

  2. kellycole says:

    I’ve been impressed with your commitment this month and I have to say that I’ll miss your daily posts. OK, I clicked on the link to your first post – that’s funny. 🙂

  3. Jenny says:

    way to go! i agree, i’m going to miss seeing “uninterrupted prosperity” in my blogroll every day! and i agree with you, you should totally post whatever the heck you want!!!!

  4. Christine says:

    WHOOOHOOOO!!! Rock on!!! I tried this in September and failed miserably… so I’m super duper impressed!! Go you!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Congrats on reaching your goal…you did great…I love reading your blog!

  6. E says:

    Wow…a post everyday is very impressive! You did it! I tried to comment when I could, but even when I didn’t, I do enjoy following your blog. Sometimes, I feel kind of boring only sticking to adoption and infertility related topics. That’s what my blog is about, but I feel sort of two-dimensional, as if I don’t have anything else going on in my life. So, I think it’s great that you’re going to include non-adoption posts about you and your interests. I like hearing about your dogs, your knitting projects, etc. Bring it on!

  7. Kris says:

    Congrats! I’ve only just started reading your blog, but I have really enjoyed it.

  8. Zoe says:

    I’m impressed that you blogged every day for a month — congrats!

  9. sue says:

    i can’t wait for more videos of you dogs and stories of HS! that’s the good and fun stuff!

  10. Leah says:

    Congrats on blogging everday! No small feat. . . That is for sure!

    Even though I’m adopting, and that’s the main focus of my blog, I also stray from that topic a lot. There are just too many things to write about.

Leave a Reply

