games

Craig and I really enjoy playing games of all sorts. We get together once every few weeks with good friends to play a variety of games, including Puerto Rico, Ticket to Ride, Apples to Apples, Dominion, and more. We also really enjoy playing poker (Texas Hold ‘Em) with friends, although our poker group has essentially disbanded after our most frequent hosts/organizers moved away. This relatively new interest in game-playing is intriguing to me, especially since I have pretty negative memories of playing games with my family as a child. (Seriously. I didn’t play any type of game other than cards for years and years due to the extreme competitive nature of my entire family. There was no letting your 5-year-old daughter win at Chutes & Ladders in my house!)

We spent the afternoon and evening at my dad’s today, and we spent our time playing games. We played poker and then some rummy. My grandmother joined in on the rummy after feigning that she didn’t remember how to play. We always partially consider this proclamation (she is 94, so it’s reasonable) but then realize that she’s just setting us up to school us. Rummy was always her game, and she’s still pretty sharp.

After dinner we set out the family’s current favorite game, Mexican Train Dominoes, and played several rounds. It’s a lot of fun. We had a great time, and while we played the games we recalled lots of good family memories. There was at least one occasion, after we all practically rolled on the floor laughing about some particular event, where someone said, “Please tell me that’s not going to show up on your blog, Kelly!”

I’m always looking for other games to play. Does anyone have any suggestions?

This entry was posted in family, friends, life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to games

  1. What wonderful fun! And um… you need to share this “particular event” with us – it’s not like we’ll know who did it! 😉
    Love that grandma is a rummy-shark!
    And you’re not alone in the competitiveness. Whenever we play Cranium, I refuse to be on Adam’s team b/c we always end up fuming with each other by the end. Seriously – I get *so* mad at him.

    • Kelly says:

      Seriously – I may well be booted out of the family for telling that particular story, and I can’t think of a way to tell it without ousting the subject person! But I can continue to laugh at it over and over again and at least entertain myself. 🙂

  2. Games? YES. Love ’em. I taught my inlaws how to play the game of Spoons after our Thanksgiving meal. All you need is a deck or two of cards (depends on the number of players) and one spoon per person, minus a spoon. I even wrote up the directions for the game once for a family cookbook and can send them to you sometime if you like. Easy to play, and people’s true natures come out. Hilarious.

  3. Zoe says:

    I grew up playing cards – 45’s and Scat (21) and a few others. Although I don’t play games all that much anymore, we do enjoy cards and board games from time to time and our latest favorite is Ingenious — designed by a German philosopher/game maker who wanted to create something that was lovely to look at while also being fun. It’s great for 2-4 players. Obviously not so good for a big group, though.

  4. Zoe says:

    Oh, another fun one for 4 people — Rummikube. And I’ve enjoyed Cranium, too.

  5. Erin says:

    We play games too. Mainly Boggle, Scrabble, Upwords, Yahtzee, Wii.

    It is fun.

    Sounds like you had a nice time 😉

  6. Kelly Cole says:

    I love games – but I have a terrible memory and can never remember rules for card games if it’s been longer than a month since I last played. How pathetic.

  7. Christine says:

    Oooo… I love Cranium! And Taboo! I won’t play cards with my family though because they stress. me. out.

  8. CatherineD says:

    Ooh, I LOVE games! I was trying to go back to the last post I missed so I could respond to them in order, but I had to post on this one [out of order].

    I grew up playing games with my family, too. In fact, my parents had two requirements for boyfriends that my sister and I brought home. 1. They MUST like to play games, and 2. They MUST be willing to go out and get firewood (we lived in a small rural Northern Az town, and had a permit to go out and gather our own firewood – a task that my sis and I HATED.). Funny – Brian does not do either of these things. He is getting better about playing games, but he’s not obsessed like my family and I are. And, the chopping firewood rule is a moot point since we all live in suburban Phoenix now. I would say that there is no need for fireplaces here, but I know a lot of people that have them, for atmosphere! But, there are no forests around, so they have to buy firewood.

    Wow, this is the longest comment EVER. It’s 2:15 a.m. and I’m sleep-deprived, what do you expect? Anyway, we played Mexican Train on Thanksgiving, too! It’s so fun! I also love Cranium and Taboo.

Leave a Reply

