thankful

On this Thanksgiving Day, I am thankful for my uninterrupted prosperity and so much more. Of course I’m thankful for my husband, family, friends, pets, home, and job, as well as the food on my table and clothes on my back. I’m thankful for being firmly on the long path to our child. And I’m thankful for the blogging community that keeps me sane.

I’m thankful that I can be with my family on this holiday. My brother Matt arrived from Denver around midnight, and my dad, stepmom, grandmother, and step-cousin will be arriving in a few hours for dinner. Our dinner preparations are well underway; my jobs are the squash (done!), stuffing, and salad, while Craig is in charge of the turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, and green beans. My mom has already set the table with the silver and the holiday plates, and is making the appetizers, rolls, and bread pudding. My 94-year-old grandmother made the pies.  My stepmother made the cranberries. It’s a team effort, and it will be a lovely meal, but the best part will be that we’ll all spend some special time together.

We’ll be missing my other brother and sister-in-law, who couldn’t make it home from Colorado. But we’ll be thinking about them. We know that they’re having a nice holiday with her sister, aunt, and uncle. We’re all glad that Matt’s girlfriend, who manages a retail store and worked until midnight last night and starts again at 6am tomorrow (which does not sound like fun to me, especially since I avoid stores like the plague at this time of year), will be joining them as well. (Matt probably would have stayed in Colorado, but he has a high school reunion to attend this weekend.)

Now I need to check on Craig in the kitchen, and I’m going to try to get in some exercise before the mad eating occurs later in the day. I hope each of you have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in family, food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to thankful

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Sounds like a fabulous day!!!

  2. Christine says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time to be had… and yummy!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Kris says:

    So nice that everyone helps make the meal – even your 94 year old grandmother! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Janet says:

    Happy Thanksgiving. Sounds like a fantastic feast. I love that your grandma made the pies. Yum!

  5. sue says:

    happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

