making a move

This time of year always makes me think more about living closer to family. We’re pretty isolated in Baltimore, family-wise, and I don’t really like that.

The holidays are of course time to be with family, and generally that means that we need to travel – either to Michigan or Colorado to see my family, or Nashville (where we’re headed for Christmas this year) or Oklahoma City (where we haven’t been in years) to see Craig’s family. Frankly, I get tired of the travel. It takes time and it costs money. I often think, wouldn’t it be nice if it was just a special dinner and it didn’t need to be such a days-long production?

And of course it would be so nice to be closer to family for many other reasons. We don’t necessarily feel a strong draw to move to Michigan, but whenever we’re here, it does cross my mind. It’s where I grew up, and it’s familiar to me. And my parents are here. Today we drove past a cute house with a “for sale” sign in the front, so I looked it up online and then spent some time looking at other listings in the area. Then I wonder about jobs and so on – and of course there’s the fact that it would be hard to sell our house right now without taking a big hit. And who knows how a move would affect our adoption?

And there’s Colorado, which has been on our radar for years, especially since both of my brothers live there. I do feel a real draw to that area (stemming from a spiritual moment on top of a mountain about ten years ago), plus we like the climate and there may be some job opportunities for Craig within his current company.

It all just makes me think. Just think. It’s certainly not something we’re going to do now, but maybe we’ll make a move sometime in the future.

This entry was posted in family, home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to making a move

  1. Christine says:

    Oh, I so often feel the same way. Especially after I go somewhere… I’ve even been known to look at real estate in cities I’ve never even been too!

  2. E says:

    I’m sure that the draw to be near family may be a big motivator to move…especially when your child is with you. I don’t know how it feels to be away from family. DH and I live about a mile from our parents’, which is where we both grew up. I didn’t have extended family growing up, so I look forward to our child having that.

    I’m sure it’s fun to think about where you might end up…sounds like you have alot of options. p.s. we’ll be in OKC in about 6 wks;)

    Have a great holiday!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    You know that I KNOW how you feel! (Um, PR?) πŸ™‚
    I think it’s nice to be open to potentially life-changing decisions like that. You’ll know if/when the time is right!

  4. Kris says:

    I can relate to this post. My husband and I moved back to Illinois after living in Louisiana for a few years. We wanted to be closer to family and got tired of the travel during holidays. Glad to hear you are enjoying your time there.

  5. sue says:

    i am the same way – always looking for new places to move to! i look up house listings too. we shouldn’t move out of Illinois since we started our 2nd adoption. so we are landlocked for a few more years :).

    the only place i haven’t looked at real estate, that i want to move to is Seoul! hmm maybe i’ll get on that!

  6. sarah says:

    Funny thing this american culture (or maybe just our generation?). Most of my friends set out to establish themselves outside of their hometown. A lot of them are regretting it after starting families, including me. Yeah, probably a good idea to wait out the adoption until you make your move. I don’t think it eliminate your wandering eye for other towns, though. It’s always fun to think about starting over somewhere else.

  7. CatherineD says:

    Ugh… I hear you on the current housing market. We are trying to figure out how to sell our current house so we can move to a different area of Phoenix (with better schools). We have talked to a couple realtors who think there may be hope for us, and we’re going to meet with an attorney who specializes in real estate. We’ll see.

    I’ve always wanted to move to Colorado, too. I have relatives in Boulder, and I just love it there. Brian, being from Ohio, never wants to live in a place where it snows again. I’m still working on him. πŸ™‚

  8. Erin says:

    I would love, love to just pick up one day and move to a total different area, but I know I would miss family and friends too much.

    We do plan on moving an hour north in 4-5 years though. Not too far from family πŸ˜‰

    Have a nice Thanksgiving.

  9. Zoe says:

    I really understand this desire. I toy with the idea of moving back to Nova Scotia eventually, but the long winters might just kill me. Still, I miss my family very much, and it gets worse as I get older. We’re scattered around the continent, but that would be put me near half the clan at least. My husband is open to it, which is good. We will have Ethio-American children to consider, however, and what’s in their best interests. Halifax has some diversity but not a lot. At the very least, my goal will be to spend summers there. We’ll see.

  10. Janet says:

    I hear you…on the annual desire to move (or more often). We also are isolated where we live (no family up here at all)…so everytime we travel for Christmas or any other big family times…we kind of get the “itch.” But…then it comes down to selling our house (which nowadays is no easy task), finding new jobs, etc…and it just seems like too big of a leap. I also hear you on ALWAYS being the ones to have to travel for the holidays. I’m sick of it…and for the first time…we are staying HERE for the holidays. I know it will seem way too quiet and kind of strange…but fun to be in our own house, to relax more, and start our own traditions.

  11. I vote for Colorado as I have lived there once and would love to move back. You can start the trend!!

Leave a Reply

