just the three of us

I’ve been having fun here in Michigan. It’s mainly just been my mom and me hanging out, but a couple of her friends have stopped by for cocktail hour and we’ve also busied ourselves with errands, a trip to the gym, a visit to DSW (of course – shoe shopping is always a must!), and so on. I went to my dad’s house earlier today to spend a bit of time with him, my stepmother, and my 94-year-old grandmother. Craig should be arriving very soon, so that’s good.

Earlier today my dad called and asked if I wanted to go see a movie. It was Bargain Tuesday, you see, and my dad can’t pass up a good bargain. My mom was interested in going, too, so the three of us went to the movie. (We saw The Men Who Stare at Goats, and it was a good thing that we only paid a discounted matinee ticket price, because it wasn’t very good.) Obviously my parents (who divorced when I was in high school) get along very well, and I’m so thankful for that. In fact, we’ll all be having Thanksgiving dinner together on Thursday – my husband, brother, mom, dad, stepmother, grandmother, and stepmother’s niece. We’re one big happy family, I like to joke – but really it’s not a joke. It’s very nice that everyone likes one another and that we can do things like celebrate holidays together.

Anyway, I sat between my parents in the movie theater. And I realized that I honestly couldn’t remember the last time I spent some time with just my mom and dad. Usually Craig is there, or my stepmother, or a sibling, or a combination of those people. I’m the oldest child so obviously 30-some years ago I had some good quality time with just my parents (and no pesky younger brothers), but I’m not sure how many occasions there have been since then. So this was sort of sweet and fun.

This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to just the three of us

  1. Jodi says:

    Sounds fun!!! I’m glad you are having a nice time with your family!

  2. How wonderful. I’m so happy you had this opportunity to share with your parents! Have a great holiday 🙂

  3. E says:

    It sounds like you’re getting some great quality time with family. Glad you’re having such a good time. That’s so cool that your parents get along. I always feel bad for people whose divorced parents can’t even be civil…decades after their divorce. I’m sure you know that you’re fortunate not to have to deal with that.

    Have a wonderful holiday!

  4. Kelly Cole says:

    Fun! I’m happy for your happy family situation. My parents got divorced when I was in college and I can see us doing the same thing…. if it weren’t for my stepmother (actually I NEVER refer to her as that because when your dad remarries when you’re 30, there’s no stepmother – it’s “my father’s wife”). Anyway, I think it says a lot about your stepmother that she’s cool with this. Mine – not so much.

  5. Kris says:

    So great that just the 3 of you could see the movie together. Sounds like a nice time even though the movie wasn’t so great. Hope you have nice Thanksgiving.

  6. Jenny says:

    it’s always fun to spend time with the parents, i think! sorry the movie wasn’t that great 😦 i was wondering about that one… i mean, it has clooney, but the previews just didn’t look all that wonderful.

  7. Erin says:

    I am glad you are enjoying your visit with your family. :).

  8. Leah says:

    It must be a huge blessing that your parents get along. I’m glad you had some time to spend with just the two of them. . . even if the movie wasn’t very good.

  9. Zoe says:

    So glad you’re having a good time with family. I can’t imagine sitting between my divorced parents at a movie, but that would be very cool. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving together!

  10. Christine says:

    Wow – that’s great! Now if only the movie had been better… huh?!

Leave a Reply

