*sniffle*

One year ago today, our sweet Lucy died. She was an amusing, entertaining, loving, puzzling dog, but she was unfortunately plagued with a whole host of medical issues. (Epilepsy, and aspiration during seizures led to chronic lung disease (and several bouts of pneumonia), plus she was hypothyroid, and then there was the Cushing’s Disease, and I can’t forget the recurring urinary tract infections, and…) But she had a way of making us laugh with her silly personality and antics, and she was a great snuggler. We loved her so much.

(That’s one of my favorite photos of Lucy – I think the perspective of it is funny, since her head seems so big. But it’s a perspective we saw a lot of, because she always wanted to be with us, and she was also captivated by the slight possibility that we might be giving her something to eat if we asked her to sit!)

I took a moment this morning to read back through some old blog posts about Lucy:

Here’s the photo from the beagle rescue that made us want to meet her:

And here she is, “pre-washing” the dishes in the dishwasher (her belly had been shaved for an ultrasound to look at her kidneys – and then her hair didn’t grow back for a year due to her Cushing’s):

And lounging after a rough day of a dog’s life:

So, today I’m a little sad. I’ve shed a few tears. I enjoyed a particularly lovely snuggle-fest with Macy this morning, so that was helpful.

I miss that girl.

 

This entry was posted in dog, life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to *sniffle*

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m sorry she’s no longer with you…sounds like she really lifted up your lives!

  2. Lucy sounds like a *wonderful* family member. Hugs to all of you – I know how tough it is to lose a furry one 😦

  3. Christine says:

    *sniffle*? I’m on the verge of *sobs* over here! What a sweet, sweet girl…

    (And as a Cushing’s survivor myself, she’s got an extra special place in my heart now!)

  4. Kelly Cole says:

    Awww, I’m sniffling myself. She looks like she was a wonderful (albeit high maintence 🙂 doggy. These are nice memories. I’m sure she’s in doggy heaven looking down and laughing about your funny mouse stories.

    Btw, Al has Cushing’s too.

  5. Evelyn says:

    Sniffle, too! Dogs are so wonderful. Glad your Lucy had you.

  6. Jenny says:

    I know how it is. We have two beagle now for company. And, though I love them both, they are NOT Jeb!!! He spent his share of time with the vet, and somehow that just makes him all the more special. I miss him so much and there are days I find myself tearing up over that damn dog. There is always one special dog….. Or maybe ten special dogs. But some you miss more than others.

  7. Zoe says:

    Sorry for your loss — she looks like an awfully sweet dog.

  8. sue says:

    what a sweet girl. i can tell from her pictures that she had a fun personality. i can see why you miss that dear face. the picture of her in the dishwasher is a hoot! i’m so glad you have so many good pictures of her and so many good memories.

  9. Jenny says:

    i just watched marley and me AGAIN last night. my girlfriends wanted to watch it and had never seen it… i bawled just as much the second time… losing a pet is SO hard. i’m sure lucy was super loved and super missed!

  10. Jodi says:

    Aw, poor sweet Lucy! She was so lucky to have you as a mommy! I’m sure she knew how much she was loved…(((hugs)))

  11. Kris says:

    She looked like a sweetheart. It’s so wonderful to have pets, yet it’s so hard to lose them. Thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

