take two

I’ve noted before that Craig is the cook in our house. Yes, ladies, I am a lucky woman. I fully appreciate that fact. It’s an arrangement that works well for both of us: He cooks and I do the grocery shopping and the cleaning up.

I always make our salads and the desserts (when we have dessert – certainly not a regular occasion), and I’m always a key player in the menu planning. That’s usually it. But on occasion I am motivated to dig in with some cooking.

So last night was my turn to host my book club for dinner. I wanted to have a nice meal, and I was excited to again try the butternut squash galette (that’s the squash part of the recipe, but I used a different recipe for the crust) that I first tried a couple of weeks ago. If you remember, it came out looking like this:

Not so attractive.

But, check me out this time around:

Now that is a beautiful galette, if I do say so myself! Martha Stewart would have made it a little more even all around, but see how I used a knife to cut away the excess dough and create a nice edge to the pastry? And the nice little overlaps, and that nice golden look? Plus, it was oh-so-delicious. I followed all of my planned improvements from last time (except for using a pie dish – I just decided that wasn’t going to work well) and I was really happy with how it turned out.

[Please excuse me for a moment while I pat myself on the back.]

I attempted to move it to a nice platter for serving, but it was pretty clear that movement was going to cause it to start to fall apart, so I just served it from the baking pan. We did a buffet-style meal anyway. Next time (there will definitely be a next time – I just LOVE this dish) I can simply plate it for everyone.

The rest of the meal consisted of a yummy cranberry, walnut, and gorgonzola mixed green salad (I think this salad will be making an appearance on our Thanksgiving table next week), a thyme and lemon quinoa side dish (I wasn’t terribly thrilled with this one – it was our first time trying the recipe and I think some tweaks could be made), a gorgonzola cheese sauce for the galette, and apple crisp for dessert. I made it all except for the quinoa, which I simply ran out of time to do. So Craig made that and got ample oohing and ahhing from the ladies, who kept saying, “Oh, you’re so lucky to have a husband who cooks!”

Oh, and of course there was plenty of wine. What would book club be without wine?!

By the way, I would definitely recommend the book we read – The Eight by Katherine Neville. It’s an interesting historical mystery surrounding an ancient and powerful chess set. This book is an example of why I like being in a book club, because I never would have picked it up on my own.  If I were more up on my European history from the late 1700s, I probably would have liked it even more. Apparently there’s a sequel – The Fire – and I definitely want to check that out. After I read the rest of Andre’s book, of course.

This entry was posted in friends, home, life, me. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to take two

  1. Leah says:

    Wow! That looks really great! I’m impressed, and a little jealous by your skills. Hee hee. 😀

  2. Check YOU out, indeed!
    Ok, I’d like you to be at my house tomorrow night, 5:45pm. I’ll provide the wine, you do the rest.

  3. Kris says:

    You do deserve that pat on the back! Wow, I’m impressed. I’m such an awful cook.

  4. Kelly Cole says:

    Are you kidding me? That looks so professional! And the whole dinner sounds scrumptious – I love how you incorporated all the best of fall ingredients – butternut squash, cranberries, apples (cheese of course is good year-round, thank goodness). You need to post the recipe (or did you do that a take one, I’m blanking….)

  5. Jamey says:

    I have always wanted to do something as “grown up” as a book club and your post reminds me of all the reasons why!

  6. Jenny says:

    sounds like you had a fun time! and take #2 looks GREAT!!!!

  7. Christine says:

    If I read both “The Eight” and “The Fire” will you make me that meal?! I’ll bring the wine. I’m completely jealous of your book club members right now… YUM!

  8. Zoe says:

    Well done! My mouth is watering. Sounds like such a fun evening!

Leave a Reply

