welcome

I can’t believe I have totally forgotten to post about our first talk with our WHFC case worker. We actually talked to her on October 30th, and before I got a chance to post about it, we received our USCIS approval the very next day, which totally sidetracked me. Then I started in with NaBloPoMo, and I’m scratching my head trying to come up with daily topics… and I was missing a totally obvious and relevant topic all along!

I was just reminded about this because the CW (case worker) sent us some more information today, including our official acceptance into the Ethiopia program. Now, we already knew that we were accepted as of the date of the USCIS approval (October 30th) and we had exchanged informal communciations about that fact, but this was our official welcome-to-the-program packet.

By the way, I’d like to note that it seems very strange to be welcomed and accepted into the program just now. Good grief, we started this process in March!

Anyway, our chat a few weeks ago with the CW was great. She is Ethiopian, which is just sort of cool if you ask me, and she had just returned from a two-week work trip to Ethiopia where she worked on trainings with the in-country staff. The purpose of the call was for us to get to know each other a little, so we chatted and told her a bit about us and we learned a bit about her. She laughed a little when Craig mentioned that he would like to try to make injera. (Injera is the flat, pancake-like, sour bread that is used in Ethiopian cuisine. No utensils are required in eating Ethiopian-style, because you use the injera to scoop up the food and then put it directly into your mouth.) She said that she has never even tried that and kindly suggested that we might try to find a local restaurant or another source for the injera and then try cooking the rest of the meal. I think Craig is taking that as a challenge, though, so be prepared for many future stories of trying to make injera in our kitchen.

We talked a bit about the long wait ahead of us, and she did say to be prepared to wait up to 18 months for a referral. Current families receiving healthy infant referrals are waiting 15-16 months. One thing I really liked, though, is that she wants us to talk once a month or so throughout the process. I guess I was afraid that it might be a situation where we’d meet one another and not interact for months and months on end, and it’s good to know that won’t be the case. I have come up with a couple of questions to ask her since we talked, so I’ve made a note of them for our next call in a couple of weeks.

We felt very comfortable with her and that’s so important. She will be our primary contact throughout the rest of the adoption process. I’m so glad that our first interaction with her made us feel like we’ll be in good hands.

***

Oh, and thanks for the feedback on the camera question! I’ve got some research to do, but this was a great way to get some instant feedback.

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia, waiting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to welcome

  1. Kelly says:

    Well, as you know, she sounds, um, very different from our case worker… so Congrats! It will be very nice to check in with each other once a month. She sounds wonderful!

  2. Shawn says:

    Congrats! One step closer. Your almost there!!

  3. Evelyn says:

    I like your CW (and mine, too, though they are different) and the fact that she is Ethiopian is such a huge advantage! As I look back on my wait, time flew as well as stopped. May your time FLY!

  4. Kris says:

    Your caseworker sounds great! That makes a huge difference. I’m looking forward to hearing about the attempts at making injera.

  5. sue says:

    i’m so glad you hit it off with your case worker! that’s so important. i also can’t wait to hear about injera making! you’ll have to take photos with your new camera for us.

  6. So, so cool that your case worker is so helpful and communicative (is that the right word?)
    And, um… can I come over for your test runs of dinner?

  7. Jenny says:

    that’s exciting! it’s weird how different agencies do things… like we’ve already been accepted into the ethiopia program and they don’t officially accept you at WHFC until your CIS approval… that kinda makes sense though!

    i hope he can make injera! if he succeeds, maybe i’ll try!

    i found out we have scheduled phone calls with our case worker (once we’re actually assigned one…) and i’m excited about that too!

  8. Christine says:

    LOVE that you have such a communicative case worker!!! That’s awesome. LOVE that she wants to touch base on a monthly basis!!! And LOVE that Craig is going to try to make injera!

  9. sarah says:

    Oh, a good case worker is so important – you’ll be spending years of your life together. Glad to hear that is working for you.

    Also, I’m impressed with your ability to blog (and maintain the quality of your writing and content) 17 days straight now! Talk about a writing marathon. I would have run out of steam long ago.

  10. mkwewer says:

    I’m so gald that you have a good case worker…I can’t wait to hear more about this journey…I feel really lucky to be reading along….

  11. Jodi says:

    Yay for good communication! I hear so many people complain about their CW’s, I think it’s great that yours wants to speak so often! And that is really cool that she’s Ethiopian!

    Looking forward to hearing about (and seeing pics!) of the injera! Haha!

  12. Zoe says:

    Hmmm, I was planning to try injera, too. I’m still going to, even if it ends up disastrous! So glad you had a great first call with your CW. We had ours before our 797C came and it went well — she has been our contact all along and we like her. I really hope your wait is on the shorter side.

Leave a Reply

