pretty

IMG_1153

I made this ornament yesterday! It is essentially a little knitted sleeve that wraps around a glass ornament. I took a class at my favorite local yarn store to learn how to do it, and I think I’m inspired to try to make a few as small gifts this holiday season. While I think this one is pretty, I will probably seek out some other colors of yarn and beads to mix things up. I already got some scrap sock yarn from a friend in nice variegated red tones that will be nice.

For those of you who knit, this was actually an easy pattern and much simpler than I anticipated. I finished this one within the two-hour class period, and I know that the next one will go faster since I now know the technique.

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to pretty

  1. Jenny says:

    knitting seems so awesome to me! and i have NO clue how to do it! you impress me 🙂

  2. Christine says:

    Oooooo…. PRETTY is right!! I just ripped out a project that was using sock yarn… now you have me thinking!

  3. sue says:

    i love it! what a great gift idea!

  4. E says:

    so pretty! I tried my hand at knitting last winter….it didn’t take, but I don’t think I gave it my all. We had just moved, so there was a lot of stuff going on. I took 2 private lessons at a local knitting store. Anyway, I would love to someday return to it.

  5. Kelly Cole says:

    I like it! Can you post the pattern for us? What are the dark little balls on the ornament?

    • Kelly says:

      They are beads. It’s the first time I’ve tried using any beads, but it was super easy. You just get them onto the yarn and push them aside until you want to use one, then you slide it up after a stitch and before you knit the next one, and it just sits there in between. I’ll see what I can do about the pattern. It wasn’t a free one (otherwise I’d definitely post it). The woman who wrote the pattern (and taught the class) was trying to post it to Ravelry for sale; I’ll see if she figured that out.

  6. sarah says:

    That turned out really well! I’d like to see the pattern too…

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Fancy!!! Love the color.

  8. Erin says:

    I love it!

  9. Janet says:

    Very pretty! Nice job. Sometimes I just love projects I can finish quickly. Such a feeling of accomplishment.

  10. Leah says:

    That is really pretty. You are so crafty! 😀

  11. Evelyn says:

    This looks great!

  12. mkwewer says:

    I love it! That’s soooo pretty!

  13. Krista says:

    So nice! I wish I could crochet…

Leave a Reply

