crush

I ran some errands this morning, and stopped at the local mega-bookstore to pick up a gift. When I walked in, this book was displayed on the very first table inside the entrance:

andre edit

This might not mean much to some people, but to me, it did. You see, Andre Agassi was my big crush as a teenager (and okay, into my 20s… and perhaps now as well.) As other teenage girls might drool and scream over an actor or a musician, I was infatuated with a tennis player.

Some highlights of my crushing:

  • I LOVED his wild, long hair (SO cool in the late 80s/early 90s) and his flamboyant outfits.
  • My grandmother actually picked up a lifesize cardboard cut-out of Andre for me from the local camera shop, back when he did a campaign for Canon. My mom still had this in her basement until a few years ago, when I finally gave the green light to let it go.
  • I remember watching him win Wimbledon in 1992. I was in Germany staying with a host family for a month as a senior in high school, and I am fairly certain they thought I was crazy as I screamed and yelled and (of course) cried when he won.
  • I was SO MAD when he married Brooke Shields. I mean, seriously, that woman was no good for him! She ruined his career (and apparently the drug use occurred during his marriage to her). I would have been a much more suitable wife for him, for sure.
  • My mom and I saw him play in person at a tournament in DC shortly after I moved to Maryland. I remember crying like a crazy teenager. I was 23 or 24. I remember my mom being embarrassed and saying, “Kelly, get it together!”
  • He is definitely the driving reason behind my semi-secret thing for bald men. I’ve always told Craig he’ll have my support if and when the time comes when he needs to just shave his head. (And seriously, it’s SO much better than when men try to fight it.)
  • He’s doing great things in his retirement by helping inner-city youth obtain quality educations. I’m glad he’s not just another rich retired athlete doing nothing but spending money.

I think he’ll always be my crush. I can’t wait to dig into the book, even though I have 4 or 5 other books I had planned to get to first. The timing was perfect, as I just finished my latest book club selection (The Eight by Katherine Neville – I’d recommend it if you are into intellectual mysteries/thrillers), so I think I’ll be digging in tonight!

Who was/is your big celebrity crush?

 

This entry was posted in me. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to crush

  1. Hilarious. Thank you for not leaving me to be the only one to humiliate myself for fellow bloggers’ entertainment πŸ˜‰
    My celebrity crushes are even more embarrassing: Tom Cruise (duh), Pat Sajack (shiver), and Michael J. Fox. I wasn’t obsessive about any of them. Just thought they were cute.

    • Kelly says:

      Wow, Pat Sajak?! Very interesting.

      My current TV show host fave is Phil Keoghan from The Amazing Race. I think he’s sort of cute, and he’s got a cute little accent.

  2. Kelly Cole says:

    can you believe his hair was fake the whole time??

    i had several celebrity crushes, but in the early years it was simon le bon. i was a huge duran duran fan.

    as for tennis, i was more a stefan edberg girl πŸ™‚

  3. Christine says:

    This is great! I also appreciate the Pat Sajak comment above. That almost made me snort my wine up my nose. Priceless.

    Hmmm… celebrity crush?! I guess I would say Bon Jovi in Jr. High (maybe HS?)?? Not quite to obsessive over him though, just appreciated his looks. πŸ˜‰

    Now I tend to lean towards the gruffer, more “damaged” men like Jack Bauer and Gregory House (fictional TV names used intentionally) πŸ™‚

    • Kelly says:

      Oh, I kinda crush on Dr. House as well. He’s so damaged and quirky but really a good person deep down, and can’t you just tell he needs a good woman to take care of him?

  4. Jack Bauer and Dr. House? I know I have no room to talk, but EW! Sawyer is WAY better than Jack!

  5. Kelly says:

    And my mother would like everyone to know that SHE was the one who got the life-size cardboard figure for me, not my grandmother. (Corrected that in the post above.) Glad to set the record straight there on such an important detail. πŸ™‚

  6. Robin says:

    I used to like watching Agassi play also. My crushes were usually actors or musicians, though. I had a serious thing for Apolo Ohno when he was in the olympics as a speed skater. He is super hot.

    When I was middle school I drooled over Kirk Cameron like the rest of the girls my age. In High School I was in love with Axl Rose in my GNR phase. Heh. Later in school it was Eddie Vedder, Kurt Cobain, Anthony Keidis, Trent Reznor… all of the alternative band heroes.

    Today I’m pretty much over celebreties…but I think I still secretly like Brad Pitt and George Clooney. πŸ™‚

  7. Kris says:

    Kelly I just realized I’ve been missing all your posts because I had your old blogger address! I’m getting caught up. This post cracked me up, along with everyone’s comments. Patrick Swayze in Dirty Dancing was a big crush for me, sigh. John Corbett, he was on Northern Exposure, My Big Fat Greek Wedding & Sex and the City. Love him.

  8. Erin says:

    hehe, I thought he was cute too!

    I had a wild crush on Michael Jackson when I was a kid…..when he first came out and he was actually cute.

  9. Jodi says:

    One of my college roommates had a huge crush on Andre as well!

    My first crush ever was Michael Jackson. My neighbor and I used to pretend to be his sisters. Oh yeah, I was 5…

  10. sue says:

    i love this post! i laughed as i pictured you being told by your mom to “get it together.” i’m still giggling as i type this!

    my current celebrity crush would be hands down, Rob Lowe. i love that guy!

    college crush – Gavin Rossdale. i saw him in concert my freshman year. i was so mad when he and Gwen got together. alas, they seem to be doing well all these years later, so i think he may have made the right choice :).

    and Pat Sajak, that’s a funny one!

Leave a Reply

