tgif

I am always so happy when Friday rolls around, because it signifies the end of the work week and the beginning of the weekend, which is the time for me, for us, for life other than work.

But boy, are we always exhausted by Friday. I remember Friday nights used to be for happy hour, dinners out, concerts, parties, bar-hopping, and fun stuff.

But now? Friday nights are for leftovers at home (or perhaps some take-out – we rarely have the energy or motivation to even go out to a restaurant on a Friday night) and vegetating on the couch. Gone are the times when we had energy to want to do anything more.

So, tonight will be our regular Friday night routine. We’ll have leftover tacos for dinner and watch some TV from a cozy spot under a blanket on the couch. I’m sure I’ll be crashing early, and even Craig (the night owl in our relationship) looks about ready to collapse. (He went to a concert last night (on a Thursday!) and got home at 2:30am. Things like that used to sound fun to me, but not anymore.) I am seriously considering putting my pajamas on now, and it’s not even 6:00pm.

Yeah, it’ll be wild and crazy here tonight!

This entry was posted in home, life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to tgif

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Dude, I am such a wuss about staying up late these days. And your Fri. night sounds deliciously relaxing to me!!!

  2. Christine says:

    Sounds like my kind of night!! Honestly, these days I value sleep so much that I’ve been known to be watching DVRed shows in my bed by 8 pm!

  3. Kelly Cole says:

    I find the older I get, the earlier I put my pajamas on. Seriously, it is inversely proportional. Pretty soon, I’ll be wearing them to work.

  4. sue says:

    i just knew i liked you! we would get along so great IRL!

    it sounds like a wonderful evening!

  5. Liz says:

    The only reason I’m awake right now is that I took a three-hour nap when I got home from work…

  6. Jenny says:

    sounds like us! we’re always pooped on friday nights!!!!

  7. sarah says:

    Sounds like us too. What happened? Did we get old, or is it that we finally have jobs that require responsibility (and a reasonable amount of sleep?)??

  8. Jodi says:

    I put my jammies on as soon as I get home from work usually! 🙂

    We are boring too…my highlight was going to a Mary Kay party and getting a facial/makeover. I had to leave by 9 though…it was getting late, lol!

  9. Jennifer says:

    We didn’t have leftovers, but the vegging couch routine is popular here on Fridays too!

  10. live2roam says:

    Sounds like a great time to me!!! I am all about it!

  11. Robin says:

    Hahaha…this post made me laugh because it is JUST like us. Friday nights I am pooped out. I love it though because I can just blow off the dishes, don’t have to make lunches, etc. and just be myself.

    I feel like I got old all of a sudden.

    P.S. I have a Lamby, too! It was the first thing I bought when I was expecting Alli. Lamby is really its name! I guess we are both really creative with names 🙂

Leave a Reply

