new groove

I think I’m going to be okay on my deadline for tomorrow, despite my fantastic procrastination efforts. I’m glad to know I’m not alone in putting off things like that! I put in a long day today, and I’ll do the same as well tomorrow. The good news is that I’m accumulating enough flex time that I should be able to take the whole week of Thanksgiving off (and that makes me happy).

Anyway, I wanted to give a little update on my knitting projects, since I’ve mentioned knitting a few times lately. A couple of months ago I posted about starting to knit this sweater. So, 2.5 months later, here it is:

IMG_1117

Yeah, that’s about 13 rows of progress. I can’t really explain what happened here, other than I totally lost interest in the project. It sat on our coffee table for weeks and weeks, and I would sit there and look at it and think, Gee, I’d really like to do some knitting now, but I really don’t want to work on that. So, I eventually gave up. It’s still on the needles if I ever choose to pick it up again, but for now, it is officially hibernating.

I did want to knit some more, though, so I started a new project: a scarf/wrap called Clapotis.  Now, this is sort of a well-known pattern amongst knitters. My two good friends who knit have both made this, and I’ve admired their finished products. I plan to use it more as a wrap than as a scarf. I’ve been thinking about this project for a while, and then I found this deliciously soft merino blend, which I think is perfect for it:

IMG_1119

I haven’t made a whole lot of progress (although I feel like I have – I just have a long way to go), but I love how the yarn is knitting up so far. The pattern actually calls for long rows of stitches to be dropped (intentionally), and I think that effect will make this yarn look even nicer.

IMG_1144

I’ll be sure to post a photo of the finished project in a few weeks.

This entry was posted in knit, life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to new groove

  1. Robin says:

    Wow. I really admire people that can do those sort of crafts. My grandmother tried to teach me and I got lost right after the whole ‘knit one, pearl two’ thing. I wish I had paid attention better…!

  2. Kelly Cole says:

    Wow, this looks like such a cool project. I glanced at the pattern you linked to and it sounds a bit complicated, eh? Maybe I’ll wait to see how it goes for you and then maybe try it myself. I need a new knitting project.

  3. Jenny says:

    i, too, admire knitters! it amazes me! can’t wait to see the finished product! glad your procrastinating didn’t mess you up too bad this time!

  4. Evelyn says:

    Wow … you knit beautifully and I love that yarn! I like the concept of knitting, but the one scarf I knit took me about 2 years. It went from b-day present to my brother to b-day present for Bill, to Christmas present, etc. etc. until I eventually finished it!

  5. Erin says:

    You are so talented!

    I have many hobbies that wax and wane 😉

  6. Janet says:

    What YUMMY yarn you are using for your Clapotis. I know several knitters who have made them…but not me…it looks a little too complicated for me…but I am easily scared off by knitting patterns. Keep us updated and maybe I’ll just have to jump in and try it.

  7. gorgeous! wish i were a better knitter… 😦
    a scarf takes me months!

  8. Christine says:

    Yum! That yarn looks delicious! And I totally know what you mean about hibernating projects… I happen to have several of them right now. Sigh.

  9. Aileen says:

    Oooh, Kelly, that yarn is going to look wonderful as a Clapotis! I’m glad you’ve got your knitting mojo back. Is that Mochi Plus? You’ll have to let me know how you like knitting with it; there’s a shawl I want to make out of the Mini Mochi.

Leave a Reply

