lazy day

I sometimes have to work hard to balance the relaxation I desire from a weekend and the errands and chores that I have no other time to address. The fact of the matter is that I would love to spend a whole weekend doing close to nothing. I’m rarely afforded the opportunity, though.

We had plans to have friends over tonight for dinner, but we heard this morning that one of them is sick, so dinner is off. The first thing that came to mind, after of course feeling bad for my sick friend, was that I no longer had to clean the house, and that made me happy. (Trust me, it needs some cleaning, but if nobody’s going to see it other than Craig and me, the cleaning can wait.) Then I thought about all of the other things that I should be doing today. The yard needs attention – one last mow, raking leaves, trimming and/or removing spent plants. The dogs need baths. I have a couple of errands I should really run. And I’m going to be working virtually all of tomorrow due to a court deadline, so I won’t have time to do those things tomorrow.

So, because I had all of those things that I could and should be doing, I did what was only natural – a whole lot of nothing. I watched a hell of a football game between my alma mater (Purdue) and my hometown team (Michigan) – and I’m happy to say that my team won (breaking a 43-year losing streak at Michigan, no less).  Hail Purdue! I did some knitting. I caught up on some of the DVR. I caught up on my blogs. I read a bit of my book club book. I downloaded the Glee soundtrack (so much fun). I did hit the gym, so that counts as something.

I think we’re going to head out to research elliptical trainers (we’re considering purchasing one for our basement, and then dropping the oh-so-expensive gym membership, but we’re still in the early days of this discussion), grab a quick bite to eat, and then come back and watch Marley & Me, which I’ve been both wanting to watch and dreading watching for quite some time (I bawled through a lot of that book, so I am preparing myself).

What a great, lazy day.

This entry was posted in life, me. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to lazy day

  1. angela says:

    Loved Marley and me! Glad you enjoyed your day.

  2. sue says:

    make sure and have your tissues handy. we saw it in the theater and i bawled my eyes out. i came prepared with an arsenal of tissues :).

    hooray for a day of nothing! and don’t forget the Illini won today, too ;).

  3. Kelly Cole says:

    Good day. I second the recommendation to bring tissues. I read Marley & Me and also saw the movie. Tough one! We have an elliptical and highly recommend it. It totally takes away your excuse that you can’t make it to the gym 🙂

  4. Jenny says:

    definitely a good day! matt and i both cried through the entire ending of marley and me!

  5. Kelly says:

    Oh yeah, there was lots of crying going on in our house! I knew that would be the case, and that’s why I’ve put off watching it so long. But it was a good movie. There’s also the miscarriage part…

  6. I’m glad I’m not the only one who is completely paralyzed by a long to-do list!

  7. Christine says:

    I don’t know if I will ever get up the courage to watch Marley and Me. The book set me back a whole box of tissues… I’m afraid of what the movie might do!

Leave a Reply

