big news!

Big news arrived in the mail yesterday – I guess it was an extra-special Halloween treat!

IMG_1113

[Please forgive the poor quality of the photo. Also, I blocked out our identifying information as I didn’t need it out there for the entire world to see.]

It’s our I-797C from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, which states, in pertinent part:

“It has been determined that you are able to furnish proper care to an orphan…”

So, this means that we are officially done with the initial paperwork-heavy phase of our adoption (well, until these things start to expire, but I refuse to go there today), and we are now officially waiting for a baby from Ethiopia! It’s a strange feeling to be excited about getting put on a wait list, but it’s how it is. Our work is essentially done, and now we kick back and relax (ha!) and wait for a baby to be referred to us.

WHFC’s present wait range for a baby under 12 months (either gender) is 12-18 months. Parents receiving referrals right now have been waiting about 16 months. I am going to choose to plan on the long end of that range because I’m tired of disappointments and I’d rather be pleasantly surprised if it happens earlier instead of planning on the early end and being disappointed if it takes longer. So, if we look at 18 months from now, we’re looking at spring 2011 for a referral. And then travel 2-6 months after that.

The arrival of the I-797C was a pleasant surprise. We honestly didn’t think we would get it until close to the end of the year, because I’ve been talking with another prospective adoptive mom in Baltimore who, along with her husband, has been awaiting their I-797C, and we both assumed their paperwork would come first since their home study got to USCIS almost two months ahead of ours. But our application date was slightly earlier, so maybe that was why ours came through first. Who knows with this stuff that’s so out of our control? Anyway, when I opened up the mail and saw this, I was excited, but my excitement was a bit tempered and one of my first thoughts was, “But what about Zoe?” Here’s hoping the mailman brings you something very good, very soon, Zoe.

So, without further delay, here is my official thought on reaching this milestone in our adoption process:

Woooooooohooooooo!!!!

and I’ll throw in a W00t! for Craig, too!

This entry was posted in adoption, baby, ethiopia. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to big news!

  1. Yay! Congratulations!!!

  2. Jenny says:

    woohoo! this is great news!!!! i’m so happy you’re officially waiting now! i hope the wait is shorter than you think it’ll be!

  3. Janet says:

    Excellent! I love getting pieces of paper in the mail that look JUST like that. Even after your child gets home you’ll still get them. We actually got three of the exact same forms (identical) three days in a row…welcoming our son to the country on his Visa. Now that is efficiency…3 of the SAME thing. Hmmm…cost effective?

  4. Erin says:

    Yeay! congrats. What a big step forward.

  5. Whoopeeeeeee! This is wonderful, awesome news. Isn’t it great to have things out of your hands?! And in some ways… not. I get it šŸ™‚
    You’re very smart to tell yourself the long end of things, when it comes to time estimates. There’s plenty of rough stuff along the way without gearing yourself up for letdown.
    But enough of that! CELEBRATE!!!

  6. Kelly Cole says:

    This is such awesome news! I remember feeling totally surprised when ours came in the mail a month or so ago! It’s just incredibly nice to check that big box off your list (and add to your blog’s timeline šŸ™‚

    PS – Why is yours called a I-797C? Ours was a I-171H, I think? I thought it was the same no matter which country, but maybe I’m wrong?

  7. sue says:

    yippee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that’s awesome!!!!!!!!

  8. Jenny says:

    So excited for you two!!! Hope it’s a short wait.

  9. Melissa says:

    Awesome!! Love good news!!!!!

  10. Zoe says:

    You are so thoughtful to think of me in the midst of your great news. I’m truly happy your 797-C arrived!! Enjoy mastering another big hurtle and going on the official wait list!

  11. Beth says:

    Congratulations Kelly!

  12. mkwewer says:

    That’s a lovely, lovely official looking piece of paper! Congrats!!!

  13. Evelyn says:

    congratulations, Kelly!

  14. Leah says:

    YAY! Wonderful news! I remember the day we got ours too! Such a happy occassion!

  15. Jodi says:

    Yay yay yay!!! Congrats! How exciting!

  16. Angela says:

    Congratulations Kelly!!

  17. Angela says:

    Congratulations !!

  18. klarobinson215 says:

    Sorry I’m late – but CONGRATULATIONS!!!

  19. Christine says:

    I’m late too – but CONGRATS!!!! I’m so excited for you!! Did you celebrate???

    Let’s let the waiting begin! WHOOT!

Leave a Reply

