soccer mom

I can be a bit of an overachiever at times. When I sign up to do something, I do it with full force, and often probably with more gusto than necessary. I’ve always been this way, even back to having to earn every single badge I could possibly get in Brownies. I was always involved in sports, music, student council, language club, honor society, etc. You name it, I did it. And I didn’t just join – I was the captain of the swim team, the section leader in the band, an officer of the student council, etc. It’s just how I roll.

I continue to do that in life now. About a year ago I joined the board of directors of the local animal shelter. I am now trained to walk the dogs at the shelter, I’m the secretary of the board, I am the chair of one of the committees, and I essentially serve as co-counsel to the shelter. (All in my free time, mind you.) We even adopted Macy from the shelter. I guess I don’t know how to do it any other way.

Today was the animal shelter’s big fundraiser/festival. Instead of being like the other board members, who showed up to just have fun, I volunteered to sit at one of the booths all day. I even brought in homemade goodies for the bake sale – not just cookies, but also brownies. It was a beautiful day and there were ample volunteers, so I had time to check out all of the vendors, watch some of the contests and demonstrations, and so on. At one point I did wonder why I felt compelled to sit in a booth all day when I could have just been a visitor, but I was happy to be there and to be of assistance.

A couple of weeks ago I was telling a coworker about my level of involvement with the animal shelter, which led to a discussion about my prior involvement with our local community-managed dog park, and also the pro bono work I’ve done with other animal organizations.Β  Referring to my love of my dogs, which was the starting point of all of that, she said, “You’re such a soccer mom!” I asked what she meant, and she said she just knew that I’m the type of woman who will sit through every soccer game, take a role with the PTA, be the scout troop leader, organize the carpool, host the most sleepovers, and so on. I laughed, and I agreed. That will be me. No question about it.

It made me a little sad, of course, because I’m not a mom yet. But I am getting better about envisisioning myself as a mother. I remember one of my faithful readers once suggested that I work on viewing myself as a mother, because I am a mother. I just don’t have any living children. I still struggle with that concept, but now that we are really underway on the adoption process, it’s somewhat easier to think of myself as a mom.

I guess as we wait out the adoption process, I will have to just stick with being the mom I know I am – a beagle mom.

IMG_1106

[I bought this shirt today to support the beagle rescue we adopted the late great Lucy from. They were at the festival today and I will always have a special place in my heart for them. I have no idea if I’ll ever wear the shirt, but hey, at least it doesn’t actually have images of beagles on it (like most of their merchandise).]

And here are my cute beagle babes, sitting with me in my little home office as I write:

Rocky (Beagle No. 1)

Rocky (Beagle No. 1)

Macy (Beagle No. 3)

Macy (Beagle No. 3)

I’m glad to be their beagle mom.

This entry was posted in baby, community, dog, me, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to soccer mom

  1. Brandi says:

    Yes, you are a mom!! You love those doggies! πŸ™‚ Also, there are people that learn to be a mom by having kids, and people that are born moms. You were born to be a mom! When you held Tyler for his baptism, I saw you as a natural mom. You are going to be GREAT when you get that baby! I can’t wait!!

  2. Um… will you PLEASE come be on my Board???!!! You’re every organization’s dream. Truly.
    I agree with Brandi. You have the absolute heart of a mom. Which makes you a true mama. So many moms lack your enthusiasm, your love, your follow-through, and your pure heart. I can’t wait to see you in action!!!

    • Kelly says:

      I think there is probably a happy medium between how I get involved and how other people don’t get involved enough. I either do all or nothing, which is usually good but sometimes a bit overwhelming. And thanks for your other thoughts, too!

  3. Kelly Cole says:

    I couldn’t agree more with Elizabeth – you are a true mama already. It sounds like you will be a real soccer mom when the time comes (and I mean that in the best possible way). You’re the type of mom that will make everyone around her a better mom too. πŸ™‚

  4. angela says:

    Oh….that post made me tear up. You are a mom. Your baby is coming….. and you’re going to be great.

  5. sue says:

    Kelly, i’m really enjoying getting to “know” you through your blog. i too can tell you are going to be a great mama – with just the small amount that i have read about you.
    and of course beagles hold a special place in my heart, too :). my sister has a beagle and she is our 2nd favorite doggie! your 2 little ones are so cute and so was your little gal, Lucy.

  6. CatherineD says:

    This is a great post! You ARE totally a soccer mom!

    Having worked for non-profits, I agree with Elizabeth. You are every organization’s dream. And, I have a feeling you will be every elementary teacher’s dream (helping out for every field trip, event, etc.).

    Adorable dogs, too!

  7. Jenny says:

    yay for being a soccer mom!!! you’re going to be THE mom that everyone at your kiddo’s school LOVES! and rocky and macy are super cute!

  8. Janet says:

    I know what you mean…about having trouble envisioning yourself as a mom…I was the same way. It all seemed so hypothetical to me. But…the further into the adoption process we got, the more I could see it…and I liked what I saw. Step by step…you’ll be there too. Looking forward to EACH step of the way with you.

    And…BTW…those beagles are CUTE…I’d be a proud mama too!

  9. E says:

    You will be the perfect soccer mom…involved, caring, and devoted.

    While I look forward to becoming a mom soon, I do miss being a doggie mom. Our dog passed away a year ago at 13 yrs. Enjoy your pups! I am so very impressed with your involvement at an animal shelter. That is awesome of you. I would love to do that….the list is long of the things I would love to do. Instead, I make regular contributions to our local shelter. I’m hoping that maybe we can be doggie parents again very soon:) Your beagles are very cute!!

    • Kelly says:

      I’m so sorry about your dog, E. It’s so hard to lose pets. They are such important parts of our families! That’s great that you contribute to your local animal shelter. I’m sure they can use every single penny!

  10. Christine says:

    You are going to make a great mama… and you’re already a great doggie mama! (Speaking of which, how cute are those pups?!)

    I also think that your kiddo is going to be lucky to have such an involved mama!

  11. Jodi says:

    Cute puppies! Aw!

    I too have trouble saying that I am a mother, since my daughter was stillborn. I automatically answer “no” when people ask if I have kids, and then I feel guilty…

    I can’t wait until you are an overachieving mommy to more than just beagles, lol!

  12. mkwewer says:

    I think you are already a terrific mom, not only to your doggies but to a baby out there waiting for you….

  13. Leah says:

    Hi, and thanks for leavinga comment on my blog. πŸ˜€ I’m going to add you to my blogroll.

    How exciting about adopting! It does sound like you and I are in a very similar spot. I really look forward to following your journey. I love “meeting” other adoptive mamas. πŸ˜€

  14. klarobinson215 says:

    Great momma in the making! And those handsome beagles know you are their momma.

Leave a Reply

