good communication

Yesterday we received an email from WHFC (our placement agency – the one that works in Ethiopia) introducing us to our new case worker. Up to this point, we worked with a social worker at WHFC, who helped us through the home study process and the dossier. Now that we have completed those things (minus the pesky USCIS approval), we will work with our case worker through the rest of the journey. Essentially, she’ll be available to us for questions and concerns, and ultimately she’ll be the one we hear from when we receive our referral.

There were two exciting things in the email about the case worker assignment. First, it said that we would not be able to talk with the case worker this week because she is in Ethiopia right now. That’s so awesome! I guess this excites me because I know she is actually visiting the country, seeing the children, spending time at Horizon House, and working with the in-country staff. And second, based purely on her name and by looking at her photo, I’m 99% certain that this woman is actually Ethiopian. Awesome again! (Yes, I just judged a person by her name and by the way she looks. Bad, bad Kelly. I will remember this and try to teach my future child not to do this, although if we’re finding other Ethiopians maybe it won’t be so bad?)

So, we will touch base with the case worker next week and talk with her then. At this point, I don’t think there’s much to talk about, but we’ll see what she has to say.

I have to say that I have been very, very pleased with the level of communication from WHFC. Last week we had a call from our social worker on the very day that our final home study was delivered to us. She let us know that she received it and that within a week or so, we’d be assigned a case worker. And then we got this email yesterday doing just that, within the time specified. We had prompt, polite, and helpful communication regarding our many dossier questions, and we enjoyed a couple of nice conversations with our social worker. Good communication goes a long way in my book, and we definitely haven’t had any problems in that regard with WHFC. That’s good, since we will be working with them for a very long time!

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to good communication

  1. Kelly says:

    Woohoo!!! As you know, we’ve had less than ideal communication with our social worker so I am THRILLED to hear that yours is going so well. That is so important – if nothing else, for your peace of mind during this long process. And the fact that she’s probably Ethiopian herself and currently visiting Ethiopia? I’d be super stoked about that too! Things are looking up – next thing you know you’ll have that pesky USCIS approval in your mailbox! 🙂

  2. I second Kelly’s reply – good communication is absolutely essential in the adoption process. We battled poor communication with both of our placing agencies (VN and Korea) and actually complained to the management of the former. To be included in the process and kept informed along the way goes so far in easing the wait. I’m so happy for you to have found a great agency!

  3. Jenny says:

    yay! that’s great! it’s always wonderful to have good communication. it IRKS me when people don’t communicate well/at all! totally awesome if she is indeed Ethiopian! definitely a good thing that you know she’s visiting. she’ll have better perspective. WOOHOO!

  4. Angela says:

    Kelly, I really like WHFC too. I wanted to use them, but it was during the time our homestudy was stalled to no end. I looked for another agency to shave some of the wasted time away from our process. They’re a great agency in my opinion. I figured if they were able to withstand controversy regarding Zoe’s adoption, they had to be very ethical.

    I was even more impressed by the case worker.

  5. Christine says:

    WHOOOHOOOO for good communication! That’s awesome. I love love love when the agency people go to the country… I think it’s crucial, so YAY for that too!

  6. Janet says:

    Good news…all around. Love it.

  7. Evelyn says:

    I know exactly who you are talking about and she is Ethiopian. So glad to hear she is there! Hopefully, she can send me pictures of my boys! How cool that she is your case worker. I hope you have a very smooth road ahead! 🙂

  8. CatherineD says:

    Hooray for good communication! I agree – communication is HUGE. Especially for one of the most important times in your life!

  9. Meg DeZutti says:

    I’m so glad you have a good relationship with your agency…that makes things that much easier. I also love that your case worker is in country and might, just might (fingers crossed) BE Ethiopian. I think that will help tremendously in the future.

  10. Jennifer says:

    So exciting…and thank goodness for good communication…it means so much in this process. I’ve heard good things about your agency too…agency choice is so important!

  11. E says:

    Kelly, it is wonderful and so important to have good communication. Take it from someone who doesn’t have the best communication with an agency…*sigh*

    It’s great that you’re feeling good about your agency…another important thing! It must have been so exciting for you to hear that YOUR caseworker is in Ethiopia!

  12. Robin says:

    Wow, I’ve been so behind in my reading and just wanted to check in. I’m so glad things are moving forward for you and you feel like you’re making progress. Your agency sounds great!!

    (By the way, from your last post, I totally understand the feeling like are losing your friend circle when others have kids and you are left behind. For us since our friends all have “normal” kids we don’t like to get together because for one, it hurts me to see their kids, and two, our kid won’t play with their kid. Secondly, we can’t hang out with our childless friends because we still have Alli and therefore we’re limited on what we can do and what they want to put up with.)

    I still love your blog! I have to remember to come over here and check it out since you don’t show up on my dashboard anymore…

Leave a Reply

