climbing out

I’m slowly climbing out of my deep, dark hole. I appreciate the supportive comments and emails. It helps a lot to know that other people don’t think I’m crazy. Intellectually, I know that I need to process my emotions – and that I am entitled to them – but I do have a hard time when I don’t think my emotions are particularly reasonable. That’s another project for me to work on.

I ended up taking a sick day yesterday because I cried for the first 30 minutes I was in the office. (Thank goodness I have an office with a door – otherwise I would be so screwed.) I went home, slept for 2 hours and generally behaved like a depressed person, complete with baggy sweatpants and ratty old t-shirt attire. I watched Gossip Girl as a little indulgence, and all that was missing from total woe-is-me mode was a pint of B&J’s Mint Chocolate Cookie ice cream. (I considered going to get some, but that would have involved getting off the couch.)

I did leave the house to attend a meeting at the animal shelter later in the day because, you know, there’s nothing like going to a municipal animal shelter to make you feel less depressed. (That’s sarcasm, in case it wasn’t clear.) But, as a sign of how discombobulated I was, I actually showed up 30 minutes early (which I suppose is better than 30 minutes late) and then I was utterly baffled that nobody else was there, and that there was another meeting going on in the meeting room, etc. It took me a good 15 minutes to figure out what was going on.

This morning I had a previously-scheduled acupuncture appointment, and I think the treatment was really helpful. I feel much more stable this afternoon than I did this morning. My acupuncturist also gave me a copy of a book called Loving What Is (by Byron Katie). It’s a self-help book on finding different perspectives in life and not always focusing on problems. I’ll be sure to report if it’s helpful. (Or if it’s not.)

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to climbing out

  1. Matt and Jenny says:

    i'm sorry the day started out so sucky at work, but glad to know you're slowing feeling better! we DO NOT think you're crazy at all! we love you!!!

  2. E says:

    I'm sorry you are going through a rought time right now. I really hope things look up soon.

  3. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Oh, Kelly. I'm so sorry. Glad you gave yourself some much-needed downtime. Hopefully it was healing. Wish we lived in the same town – I totally would have brought you the B&J's!

  4. CatherineD says:

    It's good that you took a day off. Even though you're down, your sarcasm is still awesome!

    It sounds like you have a very supportive acupuncturist. I've always wanted to try it, but now that I'm not working, I'm trying to cut down on things not covered by insurance.

  5. Angela says:

    Glad you took some time for yourself Kelly. I hope you continue to acknowledge your feelings.

  6. E says:

    I'm glad to hear you took the day off…you deserved it. I hope you're feeling better (and hopeful!) soon. When you described what you did this morning, I could remember so vividly the several times I had been in a similar state. Continue to take care of yourself…

  7. MK says:

    I'm glad you took a mental health day…I hope you are feeling better…

  8. Christine says:

    I'm a big believer in mental health days (especially if they involve GG!) so happy that you're feeling a bit better!

  9. Krista says:

    Mental health days are a real necessity! So is Gossip Girl! Take care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

