nine

Today Craig and I celebrate our ninth wedding anniversary! Sometimes I can’t believe it has been so long – I mean, it seems like we were married yesterday at times – and at other times I realize that we have spent our entire adult lives together, and gosh, that is a long time. I’m grateful and humbled to have married my best friend, and to be able to say nine years later that Craig is still my best friend. As Sarah McLachlan says in our song, his love is better than ice cream. That’s saying a lot, coming from an ice cream lover like me!

[We actually don’t have any digital images of our wedding, believe it or not (I guess 2000 was before all photographers made the switch) so I actually had to pull this out of a frame to scan it!]

We don’t have any plans to celebrate today, since I will be on a lovely [insert sarcasm] bus tour of Baltimore neighborhoods tonight for work. We do have reservations tomorrow at Kali’s Court, a highly-regarded Mediterranean seafood restaurant in Fell’s Point that we have always wanted to try. We hope to not spend the evening at the animal hospital like we did on our seventh anniversary.

I am already dreaming of our tenth anniversary next year. Obviously ten years is a special milestone, and it will also likely be our last hurrah as a twosome. While I have no idea how we will afford a special vacation next year on top of adoption expenses and the rest of life, we are going to try to make that a priority and save up so that we can do something decadent – maybe a tropical location (back to Aruba, where we honeymooned, perhaps?), or maybe Paris, or maybe a Napa Valley wine-tasting tour – something special for just the two of us.

While we are not exchanging gifts this year (the golf clubs back in August were supposed to be for both of our birthdays plus our anniversary – really romantic, I know), our big anniversary excitement could well be the completion of our dossier packet. My police letter (gold seal letter in Maryland) arrived yesterday in the mail, and this morning I picked up Craig’s health form (finally!). All we’re waiting on is his gold seal letter, and it seems like it really could arrive in today’s mail since I know they were mailed on the same day (I called to confirm this a few days ago). Wow, wouldn’t it be wonderful to celebrate both our anniversary and the completion of our dossier paperwork?!

This entry was posted in adoption, dossier, life. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to nine

  1. E says:

    Happy anniversary!

  2. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Definitely hoping you can celebrate two great days in one today! We didn't have digital pics of our wedding either. I guess that makes us old? Yikes. Happy day to you two!

  3. Kelly says:

    Happy Anniversary to both of you! You guys look adorable in that photo. Btw, the ice cream song was on our short list for our wedding song. It is just so sweet and appropriate. (We ended up going with Into the Mystic by Van Morrison.) Have fun celebrating tomorrow night. This year for our anniversary my mom was visiting. Pretty romantic. So we're going to celebrate next week instead when we are in SF (at the site of our engagement).

  4. Kelly says:

    PS – Beautiful wedding dress!!

  5. Sam's Mom says:

    I really think next year's anniversary WILL NOT be spent as a 2some…but rather a 3some. They MAY be your last horrah after all.

  6. Emily says:

    Congratulations!

  7. Matt and Jenny says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! I was thinking like Sam's Mom… THIS one may be your last as a twosome!

  8. Kelly says:

    Well, we're still another month or two away from USCIS approval (since our home study isn't there yet) and then WHFC has a 12-18 month wait. And then there's the 2-3 months until travel. So, we think that early 2011 is probably the earliest for anything to happen. We don't think it will be done by next September, but if it is, I won't mind one bit if I have to cancel our vacation plans!

  9. CatherineD says:

    Happy Anniversary! I love your dress and the flowers. Oh, and your husband looks nice, too (poor things always get ignored on 'the bride's day!')

  10. Krista says:

    Happy Anniversary!!

  11. Christine says:

    Happy Anniversary! (Beautiful dress!) I hope it's a wonderful day filled with only good things. I think your thought process is the way to go… it's better to be pleasantly surprised than drowning your sorrows in ice cream/wine/whatever every night. Trust me.

    Have a wonderful dinner out tomorrow!

  12. Robin says:

    Happy anniversary! Glad you got the forms…

    Our wedding pics from 2001 aren't digital either!

  13. kristine says:

    the dossier would be the best anniversary present ever!
    Happy anniversary!!!

  14. MK says:

    Happy anniversary!

  15. E says:

    Happy Anniversary!! We celebrated 10 this year and went to Barbados….yes, do something extra special for next year. Hope you enjoyed celebrating this year, wherever you went. No digi wedding pics for us either….it's as if a decade ago was the dark ages haha.

    Hope your paperwork is completed very soon!!!

  16. Jodi says:

    Happy Anniversary! I'm coming up way behind you. 3 yrs on 10/13!

Leave a Reply

