progress (and lower back pain)

It’s a new week and I feel like things are moving again on the adoption front. I heard from our social worker this morning, and she has submitted the home study to the director of international programs at Barker. Yay! (We had a conversation with her Sunday evening to give her some last information, so I knew that this should happen today.) The home study step is not quite done yet, but we are almost there. We will need the director to sign off on it, and then we will have a chance to review it and provide feedback, and WHFC has to sign off on it as well. But hopefully this will all be done in the next several days!

I also dropped off the new health form for Craig’s doctor this morning. Craig had called the office earlier in the morning so they were actually expecting it – which is good news – and they didn’t even charge me another fee for it (which I was fully expecting to have to pay). Hey, $5 saved is $5 saved in the world of adoption expenses! The woman at the front desk actually asked me to point out what needed to be done differently. (I did not act on my urge to lecture her about the apparent inability of certain people to read and follow directions.) I again included detailed written instructions and this time I also put a post-it note over the part she does not need to address that said, “Please only fill out portion below.” Plus I actually had Craig sign the form this time so that it wasn’t blank and tempting to her. Hopefully since they are aware of the situation they will heed our request for ASAP processing. I would love to get that form back this week.

In other news, unfortunately I managed to hurt my back this morning. I did what I do every day after showering – I bent forward to let my hair hang down so I could wrap it up in a towel. And today, I did that and I felt a sharp pain in my lower back. Who knows what I did or why it happened today. I am generally okay while in certain positions, but getting up or down or turning to the side is not fun. Getting in and out of the car was terrible. I came home early after dealing with three meetings at work, and I spent the afternoon lying flat on my back on top of a heating pad. I’m hoping to get in for acupuncture tomorrow. I hope this goes away soon.

This entry was posted in adoption, dossier, home study. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to progress (and lower back pain)

  1. Christine says:

    I hope you feel better soon! And I *really* hope that home study is wrapped up this week! Everything sounds like it's coming together… fingers crossed!

    Now – go heal! đŸ˜‰

  2. Missy says:

    Good news on the adoption process!! ALMOST done!!
    Sorry about your back! (I pinched a nerve in my neck once…putting my hair in a ponytail!! Couldn't move my head for 4 days….crazy!)
    Hope you are on the mend soon!!

  3. Zoe says:

    When you get down to the wire, you can feel so anxious to just GET IT FINISHED. Hope it happens this week!

    Sorry about your back and I hope you can get that healed up soon.

  4. Robin says:

    Ouch! Our bodies are so weird sometimes. It seems like every so often I'll do something totally benign like turn my head or reach to scratch somewhere and I'll pull something. Of course for me it probably means I need to work out.

    I admire how you're dealing with the paperwork drudgery. It sounds really overwhelming. I don't know how much of your first paragraph I even understood.

    Good luck with the doctor forms. Second times the charm! (Maybe she'll feel like a dumbass for not following directions the first time).

  5. Elizabeth Frick says:

    ugh, back pain is the worst.
    But way to lay the smack down at the doc's office. I swear, some people need you to hold their hands through everything. Glad you made it clear and I hope they act quickly!!!

  6. Kelly says:

    Woohoo for some progress! That damn doctor's office better get it right this time or else. Or else what? I don't know, but I'll be really really mad!

    Sorry about your back. About a month ago, I did something weird to my back and it was excruciating. But I will say that acupuncture helped my back immensely and I'm back to new now. (I just said "back" a LOT.)

  7. CatherineD says:

    Ha ha! Sounds like the other Kelly is ready for a knock-down, drag-out with Craig's doctor! I'm glad things are moving along now.

    Bummer about your back. I struggle constantly with lower back issues, and it sucks how it is affected by every move you make. Just don't sneeze – that's the worst! I hope it feels better soon.

  8. MK says:

    I'm sorry you hurt your back but I am glad you've gotten some progress in Operation Baby!

  9. Krista says:

    Almost Almost Almost!!

Leave a Reply

