the art of blogging

While we were on vacation, we went to see Julie and Julia with my mom. It wasn’t an amazing movie, but I really enjoyed it for a few reasons. First: Meryl Streep. That woman is amazing. Enough said.

Mainly, though, I enjoyed it because half of the story is about a blogger. The movie is based on a true story and on a book of the same title. Essentially, Julie, a woman from Queens who was uninspired with her job and sort of bored with life, decided to embark upon a year-long project – to cook her way through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking – and to blog about it. I found her blog (The Julie and Julia Project) and it is still up, but the last entry is from 2004 on the day after Julia Child died. A fitting final entry, I suppose.

The movie alternates (as I assume the book does, but I haven’t read it) between 1) Julie’s cooking and blogging and 2) Julia’s story – how and why she learned how to cook and how that evolved into writing her famous cookbook and becoming the Julia Child we all knew.

I am certainly not a blogger at the scale and scope as this woman was. (She got over 200 comments on each post!) However, I could really relate to a lot of the talk about blogging in the movie. I loved the little things: the friends and family who didn’t quite understand why she was doing this blogging thing and sharing her thoughts and feelings on the internet, her excitement over getting her very first comment on the blog, the encouragement she got from her readers when she needed a boost, and so on.

Another thing I liked about the movie was something that happens in the second half of the movie that showed that I have a connection with Julia Child as well. It was a heartbreaking scene and I was moved beyond tears. (I won’t say what it is in case people want to see the movie, but some people reading this blog might have a similar reaction.)

And finally, we enjoyed all of the cooking and food featured in the movie! I might have to pick up a copy of Julia Child’s cookbook for Craig, who is the chef in our house.

This entry was posted in blog, life, movies. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the art of blogging

  1. kristine says:

    Julia Child's cookbook was the first cookbook i ever bought myself, i was 18 and living alone and i loved it! i still have it.

    i used to read Julie's blog when she was writing it that year. i lived in Brooklyn and had a similar life at the time. it was such a little thing at first and i am surprised, amazed, happy for all that has happened to her. it feels like a friend made it big time – although i never met her – nor do i think i ever made a comment on her blog – although i might have – who knows

  2. Robin says:

    I saw the movie, too, and I know what scene you are referring to. I was very surprised as I didn't know this about Julia Child, but I can say that I have a different understanding and appreciation of her after watching the film.

    By the way I love the part when she gets her first comment (and it's her mom). lol

  3. Kelly says:

    I totally want to see that movie! Interesting – I had not thought about the blogging angle. Now I want to see it even more…

  4. Angela says:

    Wow, we had a choice between All About Charlie and Julie and Julia. We saw All about Charlie, which is really cute and quirky.

    This sounds like a good movie, more indepth than I imagined. I didn't know the story line was based on a blogger. How interesting. Finally some representation in Hollywood..hee.

    I enjoyed Julia as a kid. I loved her accent, the fact she drank the sherry from time to time, and her meals were cooked within minutes. As a kid, that's all I remember.

  5. Zoe says:

    I know the scene you mean, too… It made me cry. I can't help but think cooking was Child's creative outlet – a place to pour her energy and attention and create something beautiful.

    I was inspired by the blogging part, too. The movie wasn't extraordinary, but I laughed through so much of it and found it a thoroughly enjoyable movie experience. My own obsession with food and love for writing helped, I'm sure! (And yes, Meryl Streep is an acting god.)

  6. Christine says:

    This was on my "redbox" list… but I might need to bump it up to movie-worthy. Now, I just need to find a sitter!

Leave a Reply

