update from sw

We got an email from our home study social worker this morning. She says the home study will be complete this week and ready to give to the agency’s director of international programs on Tuesday (because Monday is a holiday).

Here’s me being picky because, as we all know, I’m already annoyed by this situation: Having something done next Tuesday (a week from today) does NOT constitute being done this week. Not that I’m going to parse words or anything. πŸ˜‰

And, she said that in the next few days she’ll be contacting us with questions. This confirms my suspicion that she hasn’t been working on this until now.

Whatever. It’s fine. I get that she’s busy (we all are) and I’m sure that she has to juggle our home study with other home studies and with her own life. What’s another week, right? We really like our social worker – she made us feel so at ease throughout the four sessions we had with her – and in the grand scheme of things, I don’t think she’s taken an unreasonable amount of time on the home study. It’s just a matter of building frustration and of being SO CLOSE to getting over this hurdle.

Boy, it had better be ready on Tuesday!

(Don’t even get me started on the fact that Craig called his doctor’s office yesterday to inquire about the form I dropped off 3 weeks ago, and they had no idea what he was talking about. But they promised to look for it. Sigh.)

This entry was posted in adoption, home study. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to update from sw

  1. Christine says:

    Ugh… that's the worst feeling! Fingers crossed it IS ready on Tuesday!

  2. Emily says:

    Almost done! Congrats!

  3. CatherineD says:

    Ugh… I know what you're feeling. Brian's doctor did the SAME THING! They completely lost the paperwork I had dropped off at the office, so we had to take it in again. The whole doctor's visit thing (for mine too) was so frustrating.

    Also, your sw shouldn't have given you a deadline that she couldn't meet. As hard as we try not to, we set these expectations and goals in our mind – and when they're not met – it just sucks!

    You will have to go out and celebrate when this part is over. You deserve it! πŸ™‚

  4. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Grr… don't you just want to wring a few necks sometimes?
    Hang in there.

  5. E says:

    This has been such a long and drawn out process for you. I hope they get the ball rolling soon. I know you are sick of waiting to meet your child. πŸ™‚

  6. kelly says:

    ARRRGHHH! That sucks, and I agree that having it done next Tuesday is NOT the same as "this week." Duh. Or is that just because we are picky lawyers? I don't think so.

    You are right that in the greater scheme of things, it won't matter that this took a little longer and I don't think it will in any way hold up the referral process. HOWEVER, it is just plain frustrating when the people you depend upon to help you through this process do not have any sense of urgency — even though this is perhaps THE MOST IMPORTANT thing that will happen in your life. Obviously, I so feel your pain (as you know from my recent post about OUR social worker). Sighhhh.

  7. Angela says:

    This process can be laughable when things aren't supposed to be funny. What else can you really do?

    Your SW sounds like a descent person. I guess one week is a reasonable delay unlike the first troll we initially contracted before our new SW. lol.

  8. Sam's Mom says:

    GAW this reminds me of us at that point in time. I felt like every freakin' time I called our SW she said she was working on it, or the computers were down, or she had 15 home visits that week…blah blah blah! Gregg had 2 documents to get (doctor & bank) and it took him FOREVER and he did them WRONG.
    I'm with you sister…crossing fingers and toes you post on Wednesday "we have the HS in our hands, and Craig got off his arse & got his paperwork done!"

  9. Missy says:

    The homestudy drama…we enjoyed that, too!! It is SUCH an important document and it SUCKS to have a sw drag it out!! I LOVED our sw, but she took about an extra MONTH getting it done. They really shouldn't promise it at a certain time, if they can't deliver!! But, you are almost done with the paperchase now!! Getting close…… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

