honest scrap award!


Martha over at Surviving Baby was kind enough to give me an Honest Scrap Award! What a nice thing to do. Thanks, Martha!

1. Choose 7 blogs that you find brilliant in content or design.

2. Show the 7 winners’ names and links on your blog, and leave a comment informing them that they have won the Honest Scrap award. [Okay, I’m lazy and I skipped that second part.]

Coming up with this list was hard – I read so many blogs and I really love them all!

Christine – 12,450 miles
Elizabeth – ilOve Olive
Erica – Our Baby Wish
Kelly – Jon & Kelly + One
Meg – The Road to Sam
Rachel – Henry Street
Zoe – Chasing Saints

3. List at least 10 honest things about yourself.

This was a tough exercise since I am pretty much an open book on this blog. But, I think I identified a few things that I haven’t talked about here. They’re sort of random, but here’s what came to mind:

1. I am very grateful that my husband has stuck by my side. He could have given up by now. He is a good, good man, and I often feel like I don’t deserve him.
2. I grew up living pretty much next door to my grandparents. We saw them almost every day. They came to every school event, swim meet, and piano recital they could. I probably didn’t appreciate their constant presence in my life at the time, but in hindsight, I sure do. My future children will likely grow up far away from their grandparents, and that makes me sad.
3. I am still afraid that this adoption will not actually happen. I worry that Ethiopia will join the other countries that frown upon mental health treatment, for example. I think I am waiting for the other shoe to drop, like it has before. Perhaps it is a defense mechanism.
4. I think a fair amount about becoming a vegetarian (or at minimum removing some kinds of meat from my diet), but I haven’t found the necessary level of commitment to make a change.
5. I am an attorney, but I am also a registered landscape architect. That was my first career. I made the change to get into environmental and land use law, but I don’t really get to do much of that in my job. That’s one reason why I’m not happy in my present position.
6. I was a band geek. I haven’t touched my clarinet since 1996. And really, I’m quite alright with that.
7. I often play the role of peacekeeper (in both professional and personal situations). Sometimes what I really want to do is strangle the people and tell them that they’re being completely unreasonable and that they need to shut the hell up. I need to stop playing peacekeeper and just let wars erupt (and then stay out of them).
8. I know that I need to lose weight, but I don’t do much about it. I think I am afraid of failing yet again.
9. I worry a lot about what other people think of me. It sometimes keeps me up at night.
10. I drop the f-bomb more than I would like to admit. It is usually when nobody else is around to hear me. So then it’s like it never happened, right?

This entry was posted in blog, life, me. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to honest scrap award!

  1. Krista says:

    Congratulations on the groovy award!
    Intersting… a landscape architect too!

  2. Angela says:

    I attended a perspective law student workshop and was surprised by the varied career paths people took before becoming interested in law school. I was the only RN.

    I'm curious to discover what route I'll persue after I make the plunge. We all have to pay the bills.

    Funny, I'm finding that a lot of PAPs are in the field of service…mmm.

    I love your honesty and openess.

  3. Christine says:

    Awww shucks! Thanks for the nod. I'll try to do this tonight! Fun!

    I loved learning a little bit more about you… like you played the clarinet… me too! Great list. I love random honest facts.

  4. CatherineD says:

    Okay, we are weeks away from a travel call, and I still fear that something will happen that it won't go through. We originally looked into China, but since I am on Prozac, I don't 'qualify.' It's totally a defense mechanism for me, but sometimes I think his foster mom will decide she wants to keep him.

    I was a band geek too, and I played clarinet!

    If no one hears your f-bombs, I absolutely agree that it doesn't count! My mom has always called it 'the Eddie Murphy word', although he doesn't seem to be doing "R" movies anymore.

  5. E says:

    Interesting to learn about you.

    I was band geek too. Played the flute for yearrrrrs.

  6. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Aw, shucks! I'm honored!
    #3 – I think all adoptive parents feel this way. There's just so much out of your hands and the world is so volatile, it's impossible to not feel insecure about it. I understand that you've been through so much more than many of us and I don't mean to downplay that AT ALL – just want you to know you're not alone!
    #4 – Do it! It totally helps with #8 too. I gained about 20 pounds in college. Then I met Adam, who was vegetarian and cooked for me, and I lost about 25 pounds! I'm happy to share our recipes with you if it helps! Go! Go! Go! 🙂
    #5 – totally fascinating. I can imagine you're frustrated in your current career!
    #6 – me too! I played oboe. And I dropped it in 96 and haven't looked back either.
    #10 made me laugh out loud. I'm the same way. I may be petite and sweet-looking, but I can swear like a sailor.

    We totally need to meet since we're clearly sisters separated at birth.
    OK, I'm off to start making my list and my award acceptance speech.

  7. Zoe says:

    Wow, you picked me and my little blog. I'm honored! Does that mean I do the same and list 10 honest things about myself now? Something to start thinking about… (Loved your honest items, btw.)

  8. Anonymous says:

    8 and 10 you can blame on your father. Dad

Leave a Reply

