lack of progress

I was quite pleased with the timing of our vacation in terms of the adoption stuff. We had completed our home study visits and the rest of that project was left to our social worker. We also had completed everything that we could for the dossier. Several items in that paper chase were underway and I honestly thought they would all be waiting for us upon our return. Specifically, I thought that we would have received Craig’s medical form, both of our gold seal police forms, Craig’s employment verification letter, and the final certification of our power of attorney from the US State Department. Aside from one reference letter and the notarizing of a couple of documents, these are all we need to submit our dossier packet.

As soon as we walked in the door yesterday, I went to the pile of mail that had accumulated over the 10 days we were gone. And none of the anticipated items were there. Not even one.

Sigh.

I’m also a bit annoyed about our home study. Our social worker originally told us that she would have the home study written up by August 13th. Since our last visit was on August 3rd, I think this was an overly ambitious deadline and I wish she just hadn’t mentioned that date to us at all. Around that date she contacted us and said it would be ready the week of August 31st, which is this coming week. She also noted that she would surely have the need to ask us for bits and pieces of additional information as she wrote the report, and that she would contact us to help her fill in the gaps. However, we haven’t heard from her. I went so far as to tell her we would be offline last week and to call our cell phones instead of sending emails. So I guess I’m bracing myself that the home study won’t be written up this week, either. At this point I really want that to be done so we can get moving on our USCIS approval.

Argh. Back to reality.

This entry was posted in adoption, dossier, home study. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to lack of progress

  1. Christine says:

    Argh is right! I hated the parts of the process that were "out of my hands" – my type-A personality doesn't deal well with that!

    Here's hoping you have a bunch of stuff arrive this week!

  2. Alan says:

    Wow, I'm sorry it's not moving along as fast as you'd hoped! L and I are preparing ourselves for the idea that the items outside of our control will be the ones that take the longest.

    On the power of attorney form, I thought all we had to do was get it authenticated at the city/county/state level, and Horizons handled the State Department piece? Maybe I got that mixed up.

  3. kelly says:

    Argh! So frustrating. I know that feeling of assuming a bunch of stuff is going to be done while you are away and then nada. Our social worker also told us our home study would be written up/completed by a certain date …. and then she went on vacation… and then it took longer than she thought when she got back… it was very frustrating because of course it's outside your control. Hopefully she just didn't have any questions for you guys and she'll be done this week. Keep us posted!

  4. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Bleh. It's so indescribably frustrating that the people who help you through this process don't feel the same urgency you do about it, isn't it?! I'm totally with you that your SW just should have been more realistic from the get-go. Do you think she told you that b/c she thought it was what you wanted to hear?
    In any case, it will all get done, just not always on the timeline you hope for 😦
    Fingers crossed for a happy mail week!!!

  5. Zoe says:

    Sorry you didn't come back to better news – and mail. How frustrating!! Soon you will be there, you really will.

  6. Angela says:

    I can totally relate to the sw post. I hope she stays on que somewhat with you guys. You've been so deligent, you deserve it. You're my paperwork muse.

  7. Bekah says:

    Ugh…sorry! There is so much of the adoption process that is out of our hands & it can be so frustrating. I'm hoping that you have movement on all fronts this week!

  8. Erica says:

    I hate that you didn't come home from your wonderful vacation to a ready-to go homestudy. 😦 I hope that it all comes in sooner rather than later!

    Erica

Leave a Reply

