home sweet home


We had a wonderful time in Michigan. Here are some quick highlights of our trip:
* Nice, cool temperatures – I don’t think it ever got over 72 or so. I loved it.
* Wonderful food and drink, including a nice salmon dinner cooked by Craig for my mom’s birthday, a special dinner out in Ann Arbor, and even my favorite hometown pizza (Cottage Inn).
* 3 rounds of golf! (Sadly, our game does not seem to be improving…)
* “Julie & Julia” – more on this another day.
* Kayaking around Prentiss Bay and watching a bald eagle fly above.
* Boating through the Les Cheneaux Islands.
* Sleeping – I think we are both very rested!
* Special time with my parents. While we enjoy the larger family gatherings with siblings and all, this was really fun to have one-on-one time with my mom and my dad & stepmom.

We are now back in the land of heat and humidity. (It’s not that bad – but I so enjoyed the mild weather while we were away!) The bags are mostly unpacked but tomorrow will be full of laundry, errands, and so on before we head back to work on Monday. Ugh. I’m trying not to think about that yet. I could get really used to this not-going-to-work thing.

The dogs were appropriately enthusiastic to see us when we got home this afternoon. Their dog sitter reports that they were “absolute angels.” Apparently they behave better when we are away. Hmmm…

I have 200+ emails to get through and 500+ blog posts to read, but I have to say, I *loved* the time away from my computer over the past several days. I won’t be giving up my blogging, that’s for sure, but it does make me wonder if I can better structure my screen time so that it’s not such a constant factor in my life. We’ll see.

Anyway, as always, even after a great time away, it’s good to be home.

This entry was posted in life, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to home sweet home

  1. Elizabeth Frick says:

    I'm glad you're back – I missed you! It sounds like you had the loveliest time. It is always so, so hard to head back to work after a wonderful trip, but luckily you have a day to get things done (we always try to build in a recoup day too).
    And when you figure out the secret to freeing yourself from the internet addiction, please share it!

  2. Angela says:

    Glad you enjoyed your trip. It sounds relaxing and enjoyable. P.S. I can totally relate to the internet usage. It does feel good to get away.

  3. kelly says:

    Welcome back! I missed you too, but am so happy that you got some "off the grid" time. Sounds like a lovely time away. Now you will be nice and recharged. Although it is hard to get back to work after a great vacation. Good luck with that 🙂

    Glad you are back!

  4. Christine says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time away!! I'm sooo jealous! I'm glad you're back though – it wasn't the same without your presence in the blogoshpere! Good luck with your catch-up day!

  5. E says:

    Welcome back! It sounds like a much needed vacation.

Leave a Reply

