more baby knitting


Here’s my latest knitting project – this cute little sweater for Baby Madeline. I thought this pattern was absolutely adorable, and it was pretty easy to knit. I also learned a new skill with the wrap-type neckline (and I always like to pick up new skills).

Pattern: Seamless Kimono Sweater by Jacki Kelly
Yarn: Berroco Touché (7931)
Needles: US 6 (4.0mm)

I am looking forward to the day when I can knit things for my own child. I suppose I could do some gender-neutral non-clothing knitting now if the urge really strikes me, but we don’t know what gender the child will be, or the age, or the time of year when he or she will come home, so that makes it a bit difficult to knit a sweater, for example. I’ll just have to start building a queue of patterns to have ready to go.

Next up: My first attempt at a sweater for myself!

This entry was posted in baby, knit. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to more baby knitting

  1. Bekah says:

    A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E! I absolutely love it!

  2. kelly says:

    Kelly, you are a fabulous knitter! I love this darling sweater. Hmmm, I am hosting our knitting group this weekend so I need to think of a project pronto. It's been a long while since I picked up the needles.

    Also, the sweater you are going to knit for yourself is AWESOME, so cute!

  3. Angela says:

    Cute sweater!! I love it.

  4. Christine says:

    Sigh – I love little baby kimono sweaters…this came out fabulous!

  5. E says:

    You knit the most beautiful things, I swear! Where did you learn how to do that?

  6. Beth says:

    that is beautiful. I'm so impressed!

  7. kristine says:

    just found your blog a few days ago and i really really like it!

    when i was pregnant with my son – before i knew his gender – i knit an open front hoodie meant for a 2 year old in red popcorn stitch. it seemed perfect for boys and girls the red had fleckes of yellow and white and other colors i think. when he was wee (born almost 10 pounds – so not that wee) i layed it in his car seat or carriage like a blanket that wrapped around him and then he just wore it for nearly three years.

    i miss the little person stuff – it knits so quickly!

    nice to see this beautiful little sweater – lucky little girl!

  8. Kelly says:

    Thanks, everyone!

    E – I actually took a "How to Knit" class at a yarn store about 2.5 years ago after a friend started knitting. I find it really relaxing and it's fun to make cute little things like this. I haven't done anything terribly complex yet (although the next project is looking pretty daunting to me right now).

  9. Elizabeth Frick says:

    I'm drooling here. And do babies really come that small??? 🙂

  10. Krista says:

    Too cute! I so wish I could knit – I just buy things on Etsy! Very talented

  11. Zoe says:

    What talent! That's so lovely. Makes me wish I had a crafty bone in my body. I still keep believing it's possible…. 🙂

  12. Anonymous says:

    SOOOOO cute!!! You do a great job! You knit the sweater, and I'll make the bows to go with them! 🙂

    Brandi

  13. Jenn says:

    I am so amazed at the depth and breadth of your talents! It's a beautiful piece and I'm sure it will be much loved.

  14. Erica says:

    I love that little sweater! It is so sweet. And I'm swooning over the sweater you are going to make for yourself! That is beautiful! I can' wait to see how it turns out! I wish I could knit. 😦

    Erica

  15. E says:

    Wow, that is wonderful…so cute. I love the color too. I tried my hand at knitting earlier this year. It didn't take. I had one private lesson and didn't go back. We also had a lot going on at the time, so I couldn't practice as much as I would have liked. Maybe I'll give it another try.

  16. Jodi says:

    Oh my gosh! You are so talented! i wish I knew how to do that!

Leave a Reply

