a good balance

I had a great – and busy – weekend. My office closes on Fridays in August (this is a really nice perk!), so it was even three days long. I love a three-day weekend!

For me, weekends serve a few purposes. First, I need to get some rest to catch up from the week. Second, I need to accomplish things around the house, run errands, and work on our adoption paperwork since there is usually little time for that during the week. And finally, weekends are the time for having some fun!

Sometimes it’s hard for me to find the balance between the fun and the rest and the stuff that needs to be done. But this weekend was perfect.

Rest:
*Slept in a little bit (not a lot) two days
*Two quick naps

Stuff that needed to be done:
*Took Rocky to the vet
*Laundry
*Bills
*Dossier – Took photos of the house and set them up to print; Completed financial statement (except for a question I sent to the placement agency); Started to work on our statement of reason to the Ethiopian government
*Worked out at the track – a friend and I are trying the Couch to 5k program and we’re on the second week of workouts (so far, so good)

Fun:
*Hair appointment
*Bought two sets of golf clubs (early birthday and anniversary presents for both of us)
*Two lunch dates
*Treated the staff at the animal shelter (where I’m on the board) to coffee, donuts, and bagels
*A knitting session with two friends
*A great Ethiopian dinner at Dukem with our friends who are our references for the home study and dossier (our thank-you treat to them) – and yummy ice cream cones afterward

This coming week is going to be really busy at work, but that’s okay. I just have to make it through Thursday, and then I’ll be off for a little over two weeks! I can’t wait…

This entry was posted in adoption, dossier, life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a good balance

  1. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Sweet! What a great weekend!

  2. kelly says:

    You really managed to pack in a LOT of stuff this weekend – sounds fun!

  3. Jenn says:

    I have such a hard time balancing productivity and fun also… Sounds like you had a great weekend!

  4. Christine says:

    This sounds like a perfect weekend!

  5. Erica says:

    Wow….your weekend made my weekend look pathetic! LOL

    Erica

Leave a Reply

