good hair

I had a hair appointment this afternoon. I am not a woman who spends a lot of money on clothes, handbags, shoes, etc., but I do admit to splurging on my hair. I have a great stylist at a really nice salon, and it’s worth it to me to feel pampered and know that at least on the day I visit the salon, I’ve got good hair. Today I treated myself to a cut and highlights (and lowlights… and a glaze… and no, Craig and I do not discuss how much this costs – it’s a key to the success of our marriage that I just appear every so often with good hair and, as far as he knows, it costs $20.) I wish that I could make it look as good every day as it does on the day I visit the salon, but, alas, I don’t have the skills of a trained professional. So I fully enjoy my good hair days when I have them.

Anyway, hair was on my mind today. I’ve been thinking a bit about how I would care for and style an Ethiopian daughter’s hair. Obviously her hair would be quite different from mine. Not better or worse, but different. I’ve been reading a bit about this topic on a couple of blogs I’ve found in the past few weeks – Anti-Racist Parent and Afrobella – and it’s given me some things to think about.

Coincidentally, this morning I saw the trailer for a new Chris Rock documentary called “Good Hair” (on the Anti-Racist Parent blog). It looks hilarious (of course, it’s Chris Rock) but also really interesting – he investigates the great lengths some African-American women go to when it comes to their hair. Apparently he got the idea after his young daughter asked him why she didn’t have good hair. It’s actually pretty sweet that he would go as far as making a movie to try to answer his little girl’s question and to try to make her feel that her hair, just the way it is, is good hair. The film apparently includes many discussions about relaxers, weaves, and the styles that many prominent African-American women choose. Anyway, it sounds really interesting. I’ll have to check it out when it is released this fall.

I guess in the end we all want good hair. I like to get highlights (and I’m only slightly ashamed to admit that I was known to get a perm here or there back in the ’80s and early ’90s!) and someone else might choose to use a relaxer. It will certainly be important, should we become parents of an Ethiopian daughter, that we allow her to make her own decisions about how she wants to style her hair. That will be the important part – that she feels like she has good hair.

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to good hair

  1. Amy says:

    I saw that movie trailer and read some of the blog posts. I'd be interested in seeing the Chris Rock movie with you.

    Also, I think someone in one of the blog comments mentioned the book "Curly Girl" which I have a copy of. It is a great resource for learning about the structure and care of all different kinds of curly hair, from loose waves to tight curls and everything in between. Let me know if you ever want to borrow it.

  2. Zoe says:

    Thanks for the links. I have to admit it was only fairly recently the whole hair thing occurred to me when it comes to our kids. Now I keep hearing about what a big deal hair is in the African American community and it feels a little intimidating… Hopefully we'll manage well enough to keep anyone feeling sorry for our kids!

  3. Angela says:

    I like your concept Kelly. I think when children are old enough their opinions do matter. It's important to their self esteem.

    I remember my son wanted to grow his hair out. I knew he had too much hair to manage, but he was 13 o 14 and he begged. It lasted about 4 months. He realized I was right. No problems since.

  4. Krista says:

    You need to post a picture of your hair! Didn't you know that was a blogging rule?? πŸ˜‰

  5. Catherine says:

    I did the 80s perm thing, too. You'll have so much fun experimenting with different do's when your daughter arrives! πŸ™‚ Hope to see the pics!

  6. kelly says:

    I like your post – interesting thing to think about and be prepared for πŸ™‚

    And I was going to say the same thing Krista did – you can't post about this great 'do you just got and then leave us hanging! After all, I posted my miraculous transformation from curly girl to straight-haired woman in my recent post (I had to document it while it lasted – ie, until I washed it)….

Leave a Reply

