machete

My brother Matt and his girlfriend Shelley visited us this weekend, and we had a fabulous time. On Saturday we took the water taxi to the Inner Harbor and walked around. Here’s a nice shot of them (minus the wind blowing Shelley’s hair). Craig cooked a great dinner and we enjoyed multiple bottles of malbec, played some games, and caught up on a week’s worth of episodes of The Daily Show. Today we enjoyed a big breakfast and stopped at Fort McHenry on the way to the airport. It was a short visit, but I really enjoyed it. It was also nice that it was just the four of us. The larger family gatherings are great, too, but a bit more hectic.

I need to be closer to my family. We are all spread out and I don’t like that too much. Our tentative long-term plan is to move to Denver. We absolutely love the city of Denver and the access to the mountains. Matt and Shelley live there, and my other brother David and his wife Chelsea live in Rifle, Colorado, on the other side of the mountains. My parents are still in Michigan, where we all grew up. We’ll see how things work out.

Matt is also a big Cake fan, and he said he’s been waiting for me to reference a line from their song “Short Skirt, Long Jacket” on the blog. Long-time readers might remember that the title of my blog comes from a phrase in that song, and the part he’s thinking about comes right afterward:
I want a girl with uninterrupted prosperity
Who uses a machete to cut through red tape

It’s perfect – I can’t believe I haven’t thought of this yet. From here on out, I’m going to work on having the attitude that we’re using a machete to get through the red tape and the paperwork and the rest of the adoption process. I can even visualize it, and it makes me feel good!

We have our final home study visit tomorrow evening. Our social worker is coming to our house for the first time (our other meetings have been at the agency’s office). We had some extra zucchini from our CSA, so I am baking some zucchini bread – I thought that would be a nice snack to offer while we meet (plus, boy do I love me some zucchini bread). We’re excited to wrap up our end of the home study!

This entry was posted in adoption, family. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to machete

  1. Chelsea says:

    Jealous!!!!!!!!! We need to get our butts out to Baltimore to see your neck of the woods soon. Maybe Thanksgiving- not to invite myself, oops, just did ๐Ÿ™‚

    Exciting to hear thoughts of moving west!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Erica says:

    I knew it!! I asked about that the first time I read your blog! I'm a HUGE Cake fan!!! Who doesn't want to be that girl!? LOL Who gets up early AND stays up late…with fingernails that shine like justice! Oh…I could go on and on..but I won't. Glad to hear you had such an awesome time with your family. Love Colorado; Colorado Springs used to be my old stomping grounds. I keep hoping we'll end up back near the mountains some day, too.

    Now I'm going to have that song stuck in my head all day… LOL
    Erica

  3. Alan says:

    Was thinking about you guys when I heard that song for the first time a few weeks ago on satellite radio in a rental car, and I definitely know what you mean about family being too far away.

    Good luck tonight!

  4. Zoe says:

    Hope the meeting this evening goes well! The big question is: Will she eat the zucchini bread? ๐Ÿ™‚ I served some little cinnamon pastries and our social worker never touched them. Course, it was an awkward time of day…

    Sounds like a lovely weekend!

  5. Jenn says:

    Congrats on your last visit tonight. I know it will be a great session as you move onto the next phase.

  6. Kelly says:

    Chelsea – Yes, come for Thanksgiving!

    Erica – Yes, the song is stuck in my head as well! (It's a good thing that I like it.)

  7. Emily says:

    I love it! Cut through that red tape, but hide you machete from the social worker : )

  8. Angela says:

    Congratulations!!!!

  9. Jenny says:

    Yay! Denver! Just peeked in at your blog, and caught Denver. It IS a great Place to live. Just hope we're not gone by the time you get here ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love the machete reference, too! Lynda was over the other day and we were talking about your process. Did you know she's getting her Ph.D. in Counselling?

    Anyhow…keep whacking away!
    J*

  10. kelly says:

    I had wondered where your blog title came from – ha! I know the song but never made the connection. Good image with the machete – I might have to use that in my mind too ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Michelle says:

    I used to live in Denver (10yrs) and am DYING to move back. I soo miss the weather and the outdoors.

Leave a Reply

