sweating it out

This weekend I started to more closely examine our list of documents needed for the dossier. (The dossier is essentially a compilation of identifying information about us that goes to the U.S. State Department and eventually to Ethiopia.) It’s a long list, and the documents all have to be notarized and/or authenticated, so it’s not just a matter of making some copies and calling it a day. I’ll post the list another day so people can see what it’s all about.

I spent some more time thinking about it today, and talking with another prospective adoptive parent (PAP in online forum language) about it all. Some of it is just crazy. (She was born in Canada but is a U.S. citizen, and she actually has to make photocopies of original documents with raised seals and then have those copies notarized and authenticated – what the?!) And it started to really freak me out. I mean, this is just SO MUCH WORK. I can handle it, and we’ll get through it, but it does amaze me from time to time when I realize how much effort goes into this.

So, by the end of the day I was pretty stressed out. Although it was 90 degrees and very humid, I decided that what I needed to do was mow the lawn and work up a good sweat. This wasn’t a situation where the sweat was due to exercise, but because it was like a sauna outside. And it felt great. I felt some of my stress ease away with the fresh air, the smell of cut grass, and the good old-fashioned sweat.

I cleaned up for dinner and then went to pick up Macy from the vet. She had her spay surgery today, so there is thankfully no more need for doggie panties in this house! She’s quite stoned right now (perhaps I need some of her pain meds to help me through the stress?!) but I think she’s doing fine. She’s a sweet little girl.

This entry was posted in adoption, dog, dossier. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to sweating it out

  1. Christine says:

    I still remember the sick feeling in my stomach when I read our homestudy and found a HUGE error. It was resolved easily enough (considering it had already been distributed…) but oh, I needed a very long walk that day myself. In other words – I know your pain!

  2. kelly says:

    The whole dossier thing sounds crazy to me, it's actually amazing that people don't give up half way through the process. But just think – by the end of this journey, your lawn will be perfectly manicured!

  3. Erica says:

    That list of documents can seem like a never-ending list. Sometimes, it's just good to work it out and then we are ready to jump back on the horse again. đŸ™‚

    Erica

  4. Zoe says:

    Mowing the lawn.. what a good idea! We don't have one to mow, but I did hop on the treadmill yesterday to take out MY frustrations!

Leave a Reply

