latest knitting

Here’s a quick report on my latest knitting projects:

Pattern: Easy Baby Cardigan by Diane Soucy
Yarn: Kraemer Yarns Little Lehigh Pebbles (Y1709)
Needles: US 7 (4.5mm)

I made this sweater for friends having a baby girl any day now (she’s quite overdue now, actually, and induction is scheduled for Monday). I knit it in the 6 mo. size in hopes that it would be useful this winter. I really loved the hoodie aspect of it, and that the pattern calls for ribbons that tie in front instead of buttons (particularly since I have no idea how to make button holes yet).

This was my first attempt at a sweater of any size, and I liked learning some of the skills and seeing how it came together at this scale as opposed to an adult size (which would take a lot longer to rip out and re-knit if necessary). I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out, although it’s definitely not perfect. Our friends seemed to like it and we’ll see if Baby Girl F agrees.

Pattern: Ribby Shell by Bonne Marie Burns
Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece (nymph CW-610)
Needles: US 6 (4.0mm)

I first attempted this shell a year ago. I finished it and the fit was horrible – it was too big and bulky. This is supposed to be a lightweight shell that could be worn under a jacket or sweater, and it certainly wasn’t going to work for that. So I ripped the whole thing out and did it again – begrudgingly, I might add. It’s never fun to rip apart a project that took a couple of months to complete. The new version fits much better, although I’m not sure I’ll ever wear it. This was my first attempt at knitting something that had to actually fit, so I learned some lessons throughout the process. (The first lesson is to test for size before you finish the entire thing, although with this project that was pretty hard to do since it’s knit from the bottom up.)

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to latest knitting

  1. Angela says:

    I love the sweater. It's really cute.

    I almost took up knitting a couple of years ago. I hear it's very relaxing.

  2. kelly says:

    OMG, I love that baby sweater. The hoodie and the ribbons are so cute!!! I knit as well, but I'm not very advanced (at all). Do you think it's simple enough for someone who has only done one baby sweater before (and the shape came out funny on that one 🙂

  3. Erica says:

    That litte baby sweater is SO cute! I wish I could knit anything!

    Erica

  4. Jodi says:

    That sweater is so sweet! I wish I knew how to knit!!!

  5. Zoe says:

    Adorable baby cardigan!

    How great to be able to knit such cute things. I can knit and pearl, but have never been able to make anything because I can't seem to do much more than the basic stitch. (I even forget how to put stitches on a needle.)

    One of these days I'd like to pick it up again… or crocheting, or something, just to prove it is actually possible that I am capable of doing some kind of craft. I won't hold my breath, however!

  6. Emily says:

    I'm impressed. I can't believe you had the will to rip out and remake that vest. It would definitely have gone in my…. "to finish another day" pile!

  7. Christine says:

    Love both of those! Huge kudos for redoing the shell… I would have made it into a cat bed or something. I don't have that sort of patience!

Leave a Reply

