visions of ethiopia

One thing we really like about our placement agency, Wide Horizons for Children, is the amount of humanitarian work they do in Ethiopia. WHFC recently created a promotional video called “Visions of Ethiopia” to describe (and promote, I suppose) its humanitarian work. I’m only sharing this so that those interested can see some amazing images and learn about the very basic needs that are not met in places like Ethiopia; this is NOT a push for donations (although of course I won’t stop you if you want to donate).

I’ve seen a variety of statistcs on Ethiopia and I never know which ones are right since they tend to vary. Here are some from WHFC:
* 1 in 13 Ethiopian children dies before reaching their first birthday.
* 4 out of 5 people in Ethiopia live on less than $2 per day.
* Fewer than half of school-aged children in Ethiopia attend school.
* There are 5,000,000 orphans in Ethiopia.

I feel compelled to learn as much as I can about Ethiopia. I’ve been learning a lot while I read “There Is No Me Without You” but I had to put that aside for the past few weeks while I finished a couple of books for my book club and I worked on assigned reading from “Adoption Parenting.” I’m now glad that it is again the only book on my nightstand, and I intend to focus on finishing it in the next couple of weeks.

This entry was posted in adoption, ethiopia. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to visions of ethiopia

  1. kelly says:

    Wow, those are some sobering statistics indeed. It's awesome that your placement agency does humanitarian work in the country. Seriously.

    OK, I may have to read that book, too. It looks intriguing.

  2. Mommy Me and Her Boys says:

    I can't pull up the video. Can you help me? I'd like to see it.

  3. Christine says:

    Thanks for that link! I love when agencies continue the good work in the countries they partner with. (Our homestudy agency still does a ton of humanitarian work in Vietnam even though the adoption program is obviously closed… it warms my heart!)

  4. Christine says:

    Thanks for that link! I love when agencies continue the good work in the countries they partner with. (Our homestudy agency still does a ton of humanitarian work in Vietnam even though the adoption program is obviously closed… it warms my heart!)

  5. Erica says:

    What a powerful video! Your agency sounds awesome! It sounds like they are doing incredible work. Can't wait to hear your review on your book. 🙂

    Erica

  6. Chelsea says:

    I am now on page 200 of the book! I am amazed at the history and story behind AIDS and the process of making and selling the "triple cocktail" (at astronomical prices) and about those many who go without the life saving drugs. Haregewoin now has about 30+ kids! What a wonderful woman, wish there were more like her. Where are you?

  7. Angela says:

    I also like this about Wide Horizon's They do great work for the country's they're involved in.

    I think it's a new law in Ethiopia for agencies to provide some type of humanitarian aid to help children remain with families, but Wide Horizon's has been doing this all along.

    We were stale mate for a while and I've considered a smaller agency but I like what Wide Horizon's stands for, especially their MD medical missions.

Leave a Reply

