home study, part 2

I’m not quite sure how I let almost a whole week go by without posting about our second home study appointment(s)! This time we each met with our social worker separately; Craig’s appointment was on Tuesday and mine was on Wednesday. We again enjoyed the company of our social worker, and we both felt very comfortable and at ease in our conversations with her.

The discussion focused on childhood/family histories, education, careers, etc. We also got to talk a little bit about one another. We discussed strengths and weaknesses, goals and dreams, and how we think we will be as parents. I giggled a little bit when I thought about Craig as a dad. The thought makes me smile because I think he will be a wonderful father, but I also think he will be a bit clueless at first. (I say that in the nicest possible way!) While I know we will both be in over our heads at first, he has had basically zero experience with babies and young children, so the thought of his first diaper change, for example, really does leave me chuckling a bit. I know that his very unique sense of humor will come through in those moments as he tries to figure out what the heck he’s doing. I also know that his intelligence and dedication, though, will help him succeed. (As will his wife, who will be giving instructions over his shoulder.)

Our third and final appointment will be in a couple of weeks at our home. In talking about that visit, the social worker specifically instructed me not to clean the house before her visit. I actually laughed out loud at that request! I mean, I clean the house if we have friends coming over for dinner, so of course I’m going to clean before our social worker – who is judging whether we are fit to become adoptive parents – comes to our house! My brother and his girlfriend are coming to visit the weekend before her visit (which is on a Monday evening), so I told her that I will most certainly be cleaning the house since we will have houseguests that weekend. Her point was that she will not be judging our home based on its cleanliness, and I can appreciate that. My house will, however, be perfectly clean, because I would be really uncomfortable if it was not.

This entry was posted in adoption, home study. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to home study, part 2

  1. Elizabeth Frick says:

    I can whole-heartedly say that a good sense of humor is one of the MOST important things to have when becoming a parent. Go, Craig!

  2. kelly says:

    Um, yeah, you probably wouldn't be able to relax during the home visit if you hadn't cleaned your house so if nothing else it will be therapeutic for yourself!

    I'm sure your home visit will be just as mellow as mine was … unless your state has some crazy rules about fire extinguishers, etc….?

  3. Kelly says:

    Kelly – We've already had the Fire Marshal and the Health Department inspect our home to check for fire extinguishers, refrigerator thermometers, etc. So thankfully, we're done with that part. At least I hope we are!

  4. Christine says:

    Oh yes, the ability to laugh (especially at oneself) is of utmost importance…

    Oh the cleaning, how can one not clean for that visit?! If for no other reason than stress reduction? (I clean when I'm really anxious about something…)

  5. Erica says:

    Yea..I heard that over and over from our SW and other people (don't clean) but I just couldn't do it! I cleaned, painted…basically our house went through an overhaul the month before the interviews. Of course, not working and having nothing else to focus on might have been a bad thing. LOL I have actually debated video-taping hubby's first diaper change because I think it will be so comical. 🙂

    Erica

  6. Renee says:

    Hey I see that your in Baltimore..where abouts..we are in Severn. Maybe we can get togeather sometime and swap stories..

  7. Kelly says:

    Renee – I would LOVE to meet up with you sometime and to hear about your journey to Noah (and to meet that little cutie). We live in the northeastern part of Baltimore City. Please drop me an email sometime if you'd like – kpfeifer at gmail.

  8. Angela says:

    Thanks for commenting on my blog Kelly. I can totally relate to you changing agencies and the homestudy. I actually submitted our first application in November a couple of months ahead of you. I don't feel so alone. lol.

  9. Jodi says:

    Hahaha….don't clean…yeah right! That's funny!

    I'm so happy to hear that everything is going well so far! Fingers crossed!

  10. Aileen says:

    When exactly is the home study visit?

    ::wonders how she can get Macy to drag snake into the house on cue::

    🙂

  11. Kelly says:

    Oh, good grief, Aileen!

Leave a Reply

