waiting times

We got a receipt in the mail on Thursday for our I-600A, which was mailed on Monday. I was actually hoping (naively, I guess) that it was a letter with our fingerprinting appointments, but alas it was just a receipt. Craig and I both found it quite hilarious that we actually received a hand-written receipt for the check submitted with the form. I mean, it obviously came from one of those little books of receipts that results in triplicate copies. And this is the agency that handles citizenship and immigration requests for the entire country? Yikes.

It also came with a form letter describing processing times, how to find more information about USCIS, and so on. I got a chuckle out of this letter, since it included several examples of unnecessary quotation marks. Here’s one:
You can check out our website at http://www.uscis.gov for our current “processing times” for this kind of case at the particular office to which this case becomes assigned.

So, what are they saying about the processing times? They’re not really processing times? 🙂

And, speaking of processing times, I did look them up and right now, in mid-July, they are processing I-600A forms that were submitted in early March. This sort of makes me wish we’d submitted our form earlier. It can’t be fully processed until they have our home study, which won’t be ready for at least another month, so I don’t know if it would have made a difference or not to submit it earlier. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Indeed, we shall be waiting. (And then waiting and waiting and waiting some more throughout this entire process, I know!)

This entry was posted in adoption, home study. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to waiting times

  1. kelly says:

    Hey Kelly, that "processing time" kinda sucks for the I-600A "form." But I do "love" the hand-written "receipt" the "federal govt" wrote out for you!

    Can I just tell you how "happy" I am to have discovered the "unnecessary quotation marks" blog you "linked" to. I love "stuff" like that!

    Hope you are having a nice weekend.

  2. Erin Sager says:

    This kind of waiting is hard but think the worst and it will happen sooner, the way I got through it all was to never check the calender and be reminded how long everything has taken, just go day by day.

  3. Christine says:

    Oh, those "processing times"! For us, they were never accurate… but in our favor, so I didn't complain! Hopefully it goes quicker for you as well. (And remember, they're dealing with all sorts of applications, many much more complicated than your form, so the processing times seem to be different.) We got our receipt and then got our fingerprinting appointment just a couple of days later… I hope the same happens for you!

  4. Missy says:

    Yep, that little handwritten receipt just inspired so much confidence in USCIS for us, too! It was so strange…and our office apparently has no phones. Everything is done by email, which they NEVER respond to. Gotta love the paperchasing phase!! But our 171-H came alot faster than the "processing times" they advertised. Hope yours does, too!!

  5. Elizabeth Frick says:

    LOVE "unnecessary quotes," as you know. But just so you know – our processing times (per the website they give you) were WAAAAAY off! I think they claimed that they were something crazy like 1.5 years behind. So not true. I don't think anyone at USCIS is terribly computer savvy. So don't take those "times" too much to heart 🙂

  6. Zoe says:

    Kelly, Are you using the USCIS office in Baltimore? I can't believe they are so back-logged – ugh. It's making me want to submit ours asap! We were told we need that receipt and then we can just walk in for the fingerprinting without an appointment. Then it was my understanding that they wait for the home study and process everything. I just heard from someone using our placement agency that got their papers back in one week!!

  7. Kelly says:

    Kelly – Here's another fun site for grammar geeks: http://www.apostropheabuse.com/

    Thanks everyone for the thoughts on the inaccuracy of the estimated processing times. (This was specific to the I-600A, by the way, not all forms.) I'll hope that is the case, but I also know there's nothing I can do about it.

    Zoe – Yes, this is the Baltimore office. I think all applications in Maryland have to go through the Baltimore office. That was what we were told, anyway. We were told we'll each get a letter with an appointment for fingerprint. (The letter we got with the receipt says that, too.) We'll see…

  8. Erica says:

    You'll definitely have to keep that receipt for the Life Book! It's funny they put it in quotes, maybe they should have tried "limbo" instead! SO excited for you and for having one more step behind ya!!

    Erica

Leave a Reply

