but enough about me

I’m on page 13 of my autobiography (double-spaced), and I’m not done writing yet. I haven’t even addressed all of the suggested topics yet.

This is not good. I put this off for so long out of fear I wouldn’t know what to say, and now I can’t shut up about myself.

So far I’ve just been putting things on paper (well, typing them) when the thoughts come to me. A tremendous amount of editing and reorganizing is in my very near future, that’s for sure. I haven’t read through what I’ve written yet, but I know it’s not a pretty document at this point.

Obviously I can go over the suggested 6-8 page suggestion from the agency, but I have a feeling that 6-8 pages is probably a good guideline that will make me include only the important, relevant stuff, and not so much about things like how I tore my ACL rounding second base in my junior year of high school. (It was the best hit of my short-lived and mostly noneventful softball career; I was proud.)

Neither of us finished the autobiographies this weekend as I had hoped. We have extended our deadline to next weekend, and really, we’re going to stick to that deadline. We need to be able to move forward.

On another note, earlier this afternoon we had a lovely conference call with our social worker from the placement agency (WHFC). We talked for about 30 minutes about how we got to this point and we had the opportunity to ask questions and seek feedback. In preparation for the call, we watched two webinars yesterday that gave us some new information. I’ll admit that both of us groaned a bit at the first one, which was basically the same information about international adoption we’ve heard a zillion times by now. However, the webinar devoted to Ethiopia was pretty good and we both learned a couple of new things. Anyway, it’s nice to get to know the placement agency people a bit, even though their role in this doesn’t really come into play until later.

This entry was posted in adoption, home study. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to but enough about me

  1. Michelle says:

    The dreaded autobiography…ugh.

  2. Meg DeZutti says:

    I am a talker, and my writing is no less lengthy than my in-person or telephone conversations. The only way I survived the adoption/dossier/homestudy process was by EDITING EDITING and the EDITING again.
    I always felts whatever document I was sending out was too bare-bones but was always told it was just fine.
    I guess the proof is in the pudding … they decided to give us a child. (maybe it was so long they just gave up reading??)

  3. chasingsaints says:

    I know what you mean about the never-ending autobiography!! Yes, editing and more editing does work. Sometimes it's just good to get it down and then you can cut. Good luck with it!
    Zoe

  4. Christine says:

    I second Zoe… get it all on paper and then trim trim trim!

  5. Emily says:

    My mother-in-law actually made me write a mini-autobiography to introduce me to her friends at my bridal shower. I wanted to include every pet I had ever owned, but Matt wouldn't let me tease her that way, so I had to be serious! The autobiography is kind of fun… a stroll down memory lane. Good luck!

  6. Erica says:

    I'm on the opposite end of the spectrum….my stuff is usually a little too long. 🙂 And my hubby's stuff is a little too short…so I guess we balance each other out. LOL I feel for ya!

Leave a Reply

