a much better day

Thanks everyone for the thoughts – I knew I was not alone in having that type of reaction to something like this. Well, at least to some degree. I do tend to make things a bit bigger than necessary. It’s something for me to work on. I guess so much of this is so emotionally charged. We expect more bumps along this road… I just never thought my signature would be one of the bumps!

What’s really interesting is that I pulled my passport out when I got home last night, and it doesn’t even have a signature with my “new” name on it! It was issued under my maiden name, and after I changed my name I sent it in for a name change. All they do is add a note in it that note in the back about a name change. So the signature on it is from 2000 and it’s my maiden name. Craig and I were just talking last week about how we’ll have to be sure to renew our passports nice and early (they expire in summer 2010) since we have a trip to Ethiopia in our near future, so we’ve already been thinking about renewing them plenty early. I’m going to go ahead and do it now, if I can.

So, anyway, I can say that today has been a much better day. I went to the MVA and – I kid you not – I was literally in and out the door in ten minutes. Woohoo! The place was empty; I guess people might have assumed it was closed for Good Friday? I lied and said I had lost my license, and that was that. They didn’t even check the folder full of evidence I had brought along to prove my identity – birth certificate, passport, SS card, etc. I got a new photo and a new signature, and now this license even shows our current address and I don’t have to carry around a change of address card as well. This was the easiest MVA trip I’ve ever had in my whole life. Yay for that!

Then I went to a state facility for fingerprinting. It took two hours, but I did successfully leave with my three cards of fingerprints. Yay again! And, I have to point out, not once did the woman compare my signatures on the cards to the newly official signature on the driver’s license. Sigh. Oh well – at least this whole thing got me to update the driver’s license before it could have become a bigger issue.

When I got home from the fingerprinting, a book called “From Ashes to Africa” by Josh and Amy Bottomly had arrived in the mail. It’s one couple’s story from infertility to an Ethiopian adoption. I’m excited to check it out. On that note, I’ve started to compile a reading list and would love suggestions of books on international adoption, transracial families, Ethiopia, attachment, etc.

This entry was posted in adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a much better day

  1. Christine says:

    Just catching up here… First, so sorry you had to go through that… we’ve had several frustrating bumps in the road like that one. And I’ve definitely cried. The “best” was when I broke down in the middle of the bank over something. It was so minor but literally the straw that broke the camels back. So embarrassing! I do feel that the timing has always worked though, so as hard as it is… have faith. We’ve had delays that have felt like eons in our process and looking back I can’t even remember them. (Well I do, but I see why they happened now) Part of me wonders if we’re flying through this part of the process as karmic retribution for all the delays. ANYWAY – enough about me (sorry) SOOOOOO happy you got all that squared away! Now go knock out the passport… and sign it the same way as the license! 😉

  2. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Yahoo! A very good, well-deserved, productive day! Good for you!!!

  3. Erica says:

    I am so glad that everything went smoothly today! That is awesome! That new driver’s license will come in handy, I’m sure. 🙂Books…there are lots of good ones. I really like Beyond Consequences, Logic, and Control and also Toddler Adoption: The Weaver’s Craft and Secret Thoughts of an Adoptive Mother (about transracial adoption). Stay away from Twenty Things Adoptive Kids Wish Their Adoptive Parents Knew. That book just depressed me and made me feel like I would never be/do enough and my child would always be unhappy. I thought it was awful. My 2 cents. 🙂Erica

  4. Michelle says:

    So sorry you have had a bad few days. Things will get better, trust me. I am just starting to *sorta* come up for air after the first week of Colin arriving home. It has been a rough one for all of us it seems!Hang in there.

  5. Thai-An says:

    I’ve had some friends who recently adopted recommend the following book:
    http://www.amazon.com/Family-Adoption-Joyce-Maguire-Pavao/dp/0807028010
    An additional plug: the author is the mother of a childhood friend of mine.

Leave a Reply

