hiccup

I’m so frustrated right now, so I need to vent a little bit. I went to the state police barracks this morning to get my fingerprinting done. (Craig is going to another location near his office.) They are only open for fingerprinting on Thursdays between 9am and 11am, so I got there right at 9:00. There were a few people ahead of me, and after about 45 minutes it was my turn. The guy was very friendly, and started looking at my papers. He had me sign the first form, and then looked at my driver’s license. He said, “I’m confused – this isn’t the signature I’m supposed to see.” At first, I didn’t really understand what he was saying. I said, “Oh, am I supposed to sign my full middle name instead of just the initial?” I mean, honestly, I have not looked at the signature on my driver’s license in, oh, the nine years since I obtained it. He told me that the signature I just signed – which, by the way, is how I always sign my name – didn’t look like the signature on the license. But of course he wouldn’t let me look at the license to see what was different about it.

I told the man that I had obtained that driver’s license about 3 days after returning from my honeymoon in 2000. I remember that I was so excited to get my new license with my new last name. I had probably never even signed my new name before signing it at the MVA. When I did finally get to look at the license, after he told me he couldn’t take my prints because he couldn’t confirm my identity and gave it back to me, I saw that it looks like a young person wrote it out (granted, I was 24) – every letter perfectly articulated, nice and loopy, etc. I mean, you can still read my name in my current signature, but it ain’t pretty. (I’m a lawyer and I sign too many things to make a pretty signature.)

So, I left. And then I sobbed in the car in the parking lot. It was just so frustrating. Crying was probably not the most appropriate reaction, but it’s what came to me. I’ve been feeling good about all of the paperwork, etc. that we have to go through. It really isn’t all that bad (so far), and it gives me a project to work on. We have a timeline and a plan. I like projects and plans. And now this is a hiccup in the plan. The reaction was in part due to frustration that not only do I have to get fingerprinted to have a child, but now apparently I have to go to the frickin’ MVA to get a stupid new driver’s license that shows my current signature on it. I spent an hour and a half this morning doing something and got nowhere, and now I’ll need to go back and do it again next week, after spending who knows how long at the MVA to get a new license.

I thought about just trying to go to another place for the fingerprinting, and of course practicing my old signature in the meantime, but I think the more straightforward thing to do is to get a new license. If my signature on the fingerprinting cards doesn’t match my signature on the 10,000 other things we have to sign for this stuff, then I think that could be problematic in the long run.

I had already planned to take tomorrow off, since I’ve worked two 12-hour-plus days this week, and I guess I’ll go spend half of my day at the MVA. I was hoping to have a lazy day of doing nothing. Oh well.

I’m frustrated that this is now holding up our clearance, which will then in turn hold up our home study. Obviously if I can get the prints done next week then it’s just a week, and what’s a week in the grand scheme of things? But I’m not feeling totally rational about that right now.

Of course I also realize that this is the first hiccup in what is sure to be a series of many hiccups along this route. I think it just brought to light some feelings that are still bubbling beneath the surface. And that’s a good thing – I need to work on addressing these issues.

This entry was posted in adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to hiccup

  1. robinsonsarewaiting says:

    Oh boy. I’m so sorry that that happened to you! I would have cried too. I can’t believe the picture alone wouldn’t have been good enough. Grr…Let’s hope things go smoothly next week.

  2. Mommy Me says:

    Good grief. Could he have not looked at credit cards. The picture should have been the same. My signature is never the same twice. I work in healthcare. That’s just bull. But you’re right in it’s probably just the first problem. Look at us. If could be screwed up or delayed it has. Hang in there and have fun at mva. Take a good book. It’ll be just like being home. Except for the security, hard chairs, stinky people and rude staff:)

  3. Erica says:

    Man, that sucks. It’s a good thing I wasn’t there because I probably would have broke down there in the office and then he’d have been sorry. I say it’s better to cry than kill someone πŸ˜‰ PP is right; if it can get messed up, it will. Just go ahead and add some buffer time into your plan so your timelines aren’t thrown off when Murphy’s Law steps in. πŸ™‚ Hang in there! Head to the DMV bright and early, get it knocked out, and then reward yourself afterwards with a treat! You deserve it!!!Erica

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Oh man… ask anyone who’s adopted and you’re guaranteed to find that we’ve all cried at some bump in the road! You’re not alone!Something we learned: sign EVERYTHING exactly as you signed your passport. That’s more important than a DL. I wrongly signed a few things and had to redo them later in the process than I had hoped. So I guess be glad that you found this out as soon in the process as you did πŸ™‚ (just trying to look on the bright side!)Hang in there and chillax at the DMV! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

