a different kind of adoption

We interrupt our regularly scheduled programming to make an important introduction:

This is Macy. She’s a sweet 1.5-year-old beagle who is now part of our little family. She weighs about 19 pounds and is leggy and lean. She has a lot of spirit and energy. She’s going to keep us on our toes!

Since we lost our Lucy just before Thanksgiving, we’ve been talking about getting another dog, but just recently we decided to let that idea go for a while, unless a good opportunity presented itself. Life with one dog is easy and Rocky is happy as an only dog. Well, on Friday morning, I received a phone call from the executive director of the local animal shelter. I recently joined the board of directors there and I had mentioned to her that we’d love to adopt another beagle someday. Lo and behold, two beagles had arrived (separately, not together) the day before, and she wanted to give us first crack at them if we were interested. Craig and I went down to the shelter a couple hours later and met both dogs. I also took Rocky to meet both dogs, as it would be important for them to get along. I tried to practice my Dog Whisperer skills with the introduction. It was crystal clear from the introductions that Macy was a great fit.

We brought her home last night and had an exciting evening. She has no real manners – she doesn’t even know how to “sit” yet – but she is apparently housebroken, which is a huge plus. (No accidents so far!) We had to coax her to eat but she did better this morning. She enjoyed her supervised visits to our yard. We watched her carefully to make sure she wouldn’t find an unidentified escape route.

We learned that Macy was afraid of the hardwood stairs that lead to our second floor, but 24 hours later, we seem to have resolved that issue by coaxing her up and down with treats. We’ve been practicing “sit” with no luck. We are also practicing going into the crate since that’s where she’ll spend her time when we are away. About ten minutes ago I went through the whole drill of putting them in their crates, turning on the house alarm, walking out the door, locking the door, etc. I stood outside for a few minutes, and then came back in – right as the alarm grace period was ending. So, we also ended up practicing what it’s like when the really, really loud alarm goes off in the house. Poor dogs!

I am now sitting on the couch with the laptop with a sleeping beagle on each side of me. Life is good.

This entry was posted in dog. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to a different kind of adoption

  1. Debbi says:

    Congrats on your new addition. 🙂

  2. sri says:

    Congrats dude! sri

  3. Chelsea says:

    She sounds awesome! I did the same exact thing with Beau. First met him, and then I introduced Cricket and went with Beau because they had a connection. Beau is still a pain in the rear… but love him dearly. 🙂 I’m glad you took the leap to adopt another doggie! I wish more people would do it!

  4. Aileen says:

    Congratulations! She’s a total cutie. I look forward to meeting her. I have become a clicker training evangelist after seeing how well Mason and Mori have taken to it.

  5. Christine says:

    What a cutie! Finally getting a second to catch up on your blog… and I look forward to following your journey (and your knitting projects)!

  6. M/J Granata says:

    Hi Kelly… I just found your blog through a friend. I look forward to following your journey… I, too, am in the same boat and it is not fun!!!! This comment is in response to your previous post. I can honestly say that it made my blood boil… and still does… that we had to go through so much crap just to be acknowledged as individuals, much less adoptive parents… all just to get accepted by an agency. I still get very angry when I think about the scrutiny, the invasion, and the pure demoralization that the entire process involves. It is wild to think about how so many women just conceive by looking the wrong way without anyone judging them, in any way at all. You are not alone. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers as you begin this long, hard, and hopefully rewarding journey. Julie G. 🙂

Leave a Reply

