new hat

I haven’t been knitting much lately. I find when my mood is down, my interest in any type of activity is down, including activity that involves sitting on my butt and basically doing nothing (like knitting). Most of the projects I’ve done so far haven’t even required a great deal of concentration; I have chosen mostly mindless knitting that’s great for when I watch TV or listen to music or a podcast. I saw a couple of patterns in the most recent Interweave Knits issue, though, that caught my eye, so that’s a sign that I might get back into it. I do have a few projects underway and I’m feeling the urge to finish them up.

I promised Craig a new hat back at the beginning of winter. I finished it yesterday, on March 1st – just in time for spring! At least I can honestly say I had it done in time for the first snow of the season. He wanted a simple black skull cap, and I think this fits the bill. This was a very quick and simple project – essentially a 6 x 2 rib – that should have probably taken no more than a few hours of my time. I have used this yarn a few times now and I love it – soft, warm, alpaca. Yum. I will also note that Craig is always a willing model for my knitting products. He hasn’t yet figured out that when I post things I’ve made for myself, I am never in the photo…

Pattern: Ribbed Beanie by Woolly Wormhead (Ravelry link)
Yarn: Cascade Yarns Baby Alpaca Chunky, Color 553
Needles: US 9 (5.5mm)

This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to new hat

  1. Elizabeth Frick says:

    Woo hoo! I totally need knitting lessons from you.

Leave a Reply

