a big step forward

We took a big step forward this week by submitting our initial paperwork to an adoption agency and starting the process of adopting a baby from South Korea. I put the application – which asked about our health, criminal records, employment/salary, life insurance policies, and things like that – in the mail on Tuesday and received a phone call from a social worker on Wednesday. The process is really underway!

So, we’ve completed step #1 out of about 1000. There will be a home study, mountains of paperwork, and education/training sessions in our near future. We will trust our social worker to guide us through the process. If current trends continue, we should be bringing our child home in about 18-24 months.

Not that long ago, I was not ready to fully embrace adoption. But now, I’m feeling really good about it, and even excited. We now know that there is a child in our future; the uncertainty is gone. It WILL happen. I plan to memorialize the process on the blog, so stay tuned…

This entry was posted in adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a big step forward

  1. Knitty McKnitKnit says:

    Congratulations on the first step! I send you and your family best wishes for your new baby on the way! 🙂

  2. bri says:

    How exciting! I came across your blog because I, too, have a balanced translocation. Good luck and I hope the process goes as smoothly and quickly as possible (though I know both of those things are in short order in the world of adoption!)

  3. Kelly says:

    Thanks, Bri – pleased to meet you! I’ll have to check out your blog as well. You may already know this, but there’s a great Yahoo! group for balanced translocations – lots of support available. I don’t really post anything there anymore, but I enjoy reading everyone’s thoughts.

Leave a Reply

