summer reading

Earlier this year, I decided I wanted to make an effort to check out books from the library rather than buy them. I thought this would be an easy way to save on environmental costs such as paper and shipping packaging (when ordering online, which we would often do), as well as save money from the costs of purchasing books. So, I joined the Enoch Pratt Free Library, the Baltimore public library system. I am actually really ashamed to admit that I have lived in this city for close to seven years, and I just now joined the library. Bad, bad Kelly. I must say, though, that joining the library has been a great move. The library has a decent online system, where I can look for a book and see how many copies are in the system, and whether they are currently available. I can put items on hold and request a transfer to my local branch for check-out and pick-up.

I think joining the library has also re-picqued my interest in reading. I’m one of those people that always has a book on the nightstand for a bit of bedtime reading, but now I find myself thinking of actually setting aside more time for reading. I haven’t really accomplished that much yet, but I hope to soon.

The photo above shows my current stack of books, which includes my latest book club selection, a couple of books on adoption, a book on traditional Chinese medicine for animals (think Lucy), the copy of The Sound and The Fury I have been trying to re-read for years (I remember this book as my favorite from my high school English classes, yet trying to force myself to re-read it has been like pulling teeth), and a couple of light fiction selections just for fun (Beth, see New Moon in there?). Not all of these were checked out from the library, but a few of them were, while one was borrowed from a friend, one was purchased years ago (that would be The Sound and the Fury), and a couple I felt were good additions to our library at home. I think I’m in a bit over my head with this stack, but thankfully we have a low key two-week family vacation coming up, where I can hopefully accomplish a great deal of reading.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

